PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Members Lounge

Past Meetings


Laborde Can’t Elude PAAB Jabs

Chalk up a victory for Ray “Boom Boom” Chepesiuk. The commissioner of the Pharmaceutical Advertising Advisory Board (PAAB) won a unanimous decision over the challenger, Mike Laborde, in their main-event debate at the April 17 breakfast meeting of the PMCQ.

The event was hyped as the “Thrilla in Dorval” by PMCQ director and event promoter Anthony Mancini of Bristol-Myers Squibb. The packed house saw Laborde, former general manager of Académie-Ogilvy (1985-2000), showcase his acting skills with a superb performance in his role as a product manager attempting to secure PAAB approval on a product ad. Chepesiuk also delivered an Oscar-quality performance with a convincing portrayal of himself.

The ad in question was in support of a mock “mega-spectrum” antibiotic touted as being 100% effective in eradicating bacteria. As documented in the mock-product monograph, however, treatment also resulted in the unfortunate eradication of 50% of the patients treated. Laborde tried admirably to put a positive spin on this troublesome side effect; “Half the patients died, but even the dead people had no bacteria,” he quipped, to the delight of the capacity crowd.

The ad was filled with blatant unsubstantiated claims, misleading assertions and questionable referencing, all of which were dissected in a point-counterpoint fashion by Chepesiuk. As Laborde tried to plead his case with classic tongue-in-cheek humour, Chepesiuk played the straight man, quoting PAAB code regulations to refute the ad’s claims.

Although the debate certainly succeeded in its intent to be a humorous representation of a typical industry-PAAB dialogue, the interplay also brought to light important elements of the PAAB code.

Chepesiuk explained, for example, that PAAB, together with industry and health-care stakeholders, has recently decided that abstracts will no longer be accepted as legitimate references.

Chepesiuk also suggested a means to reduce the workload of PAAB reviewers, appealing to the assembled marketers to reduce the number of complaints submitted to the board. “Pick your spots, pick your fights,” he said, “I don’t think PAAB is the place for marketing disputes.”

“Following the PAAB code,” he went on, “would lead to recognized quality and credibility of drug advertising.”

After the debate between the two drew to a close, Marshall Paul, chairman of PERQ-HCI Research (a VNU information Services Company), concluded the morning session with an informative presentation on return on investment (ROI) in pharmaceutical advertising.

Although he asserted that “detailing is your primary form of promotion,” the key point of his presentation was that advertising raises ROI by 38% compared to detailing alone.

Furthermore, his analysis of U.S. data showed that print advertising was the most effective way to raise ROI, resulting in an increase over detailing alone in 72% of cases. Combination of print and TV ads, however, “gets you the strongest ROI, without a doubt.”

If the high percentage of audience members scribbling notes during Paul’s presentation is any indication, his message was heard and understood.

Click here to view PowerPoint presentation.

by Scott Moffatt
Pharm Team Communications

Upcoming meeting

January 22, 2019

The Future of Cannabis in the Pharmaceutical Industry

Dinner Meeting
Cocktails: 5:30 p.m.
Dinner: 6:15 p.m.
Panel Discussion: 7:00 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Salon des membres

Conférences précédentes


Laborde encaisse stoïquement les coups du CCPP

Victoire indiscutable pour Ray «Boom Boom» Chepesiuk. Le commissaire du Comité consultatif de publicité pharmaceutique (CCPP) l'a emporté à l'unanimité sur son adversaire, Mike Laborde, dans le combat qui les opposait le 17 avril dernier, lors de la rencontre matinale du CMPQ.

Le combat du siècle, claironnait le directeur du CMPQ et le promoteur de l'événement, Anthony Mancini de Bristol-Myers Squibb. Les spectateurs, certes très nombreux, ont vu Laborde, directeur général sortant d'Académie-Ogilvy (1985-2000), mettre en pratique ses talents de comédien dans le rôle de chef de produit tentant d'obtenir l'agrément du CCPP pour une nouvelle annonce. Fidèle à lui-même, Chepesiuk a aussi offert une performance digne d'un Oscar.

L'annonce en question portait sur un pseudo-antibiotique à «mega-spectre» censé offrir une efficacité à 100 % contre les bactéries. Malheureusement, comme le précise la pseudo-monographie, le traitement a aussi malheureusement entraîné l'éradication de 50 % des patients traités! Laborde a essayé admirablement de faire ressortir le côté positif de l'affaire... «Peut-être la moitié des patients sont-ils morts, mais même les morts n'avaient plus de bactéries!». Il n'en fallait pas plus pour que la foule éclate de rire.

L'annonce était remplie d'allégations non fondées, d'affirmations trompeuses et de références douteuses... points que Chepesiuk a décortiqués un à un. Laborde a bien essayé de plaider sa cause avec une touche d'humour britannique, mais rien à faire... Chepesiuk ne bronchait pas et se contentait de citer et de répéter les règlements du Code d'agrément du CCPP.

Bien que le débat ait réussi à présenter avec humour le dialogue typique entre le CCPP et l'industrie, il a aussi mis en lumière des éléments importants du Code d'agrément du CCPP.

Par exemple, Chepesiuk a-t-il expliqué, le CCPP, de concert avec l'industrie et divers intervenants du milieu de la santé, a récemment décidé d'exclure les résumés en tant que références, ceux-ci n'étant plus considérés comme légitimes.

Afin de réduire la charge de travail des réviseurs du CCPP, Chepesiuk a aussi conseillé aux spécialistes du marketing réunis de porter plainte moins souvent. «Choisissez vos batailles, dit-il. Je ne pense pas que le CCPP soit le forum approprié pour les litiges de marketing».

«L'application du Code d'agrément du CCPP conférera qualité et crédibilité à la publicité pharmaceutique», de conclure Chepesiuk.

Après le débat, Marshall Paul, président de PERQ-HCI Research (entreprise de services d'information de VNU), a conclu la séance du matin par une présentation informative sur la rentabilisation de la publicité pharmaceutique.

Bien que «les présentations de vente demeurent la principale forme de promotion», a-t-il souligné avec insistance, la publicité augmente le retour sur l'investissement de 38 % comparativement aux seules présentations de vente.

De plus, son analyse des données américaines a révélé que la publicité imprimée était le moyen le plus efficace d'augmenter le retour sur l'investissement. En effet, elle augmente le retour sur l'investissement par rapport aux seules présentations de vente dans 72 % des cas. La combinaison des annonces imprimées et télévisées est «sans aucun doute la formule la plus rentable».

Compte tenu du pourcentage élevé des membres de l'auditoire qui prenaient des notes, il y a fort à parier que le message de Marshall Paul a été fort bien entendu et compris.

par Scott Moffatt
Pharm Team Communications

Cliquez ici pour visionner cette présentation en format PowerPoint.

Conférences à venir

17 octobre 2018

Embaucher la bonne personne

Dîner d'affaires
Cocktail : 17 h 30
Souper : 18 h 30
Présentation : 19 h 00

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire