PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Members Lounge

Past Meetings

March 21, 2017

THE EVOLUTION OF CLINICAL TRIALS

On the first day of spring, this 2017 meeting was moderated by Zeshan Farooqui from BMS Canada and he welcomed three speakers for the evening: Dr. Elena Aminkova, PhD Interim Director of Project Facilitation Canadian Clinical Trials Coordinating Centre, Nathalie Ouimet, MSc, MBA Vice President Montreal InVivo and Dr. Tozheg Roshankar, DVM, Regional Research Manager Eli Lilly Canada Inc. and TransCelerate country lead, Canada.

As the first speaker and in the interest to set the stage regarding the evolution of Canada’s clinical trials, Elena provided a brief overview of the main advantages and challenges of doing clinical research in our country. Canada ranks 2nd in terms of competiveness vs G7 countries. Federal/provincial tax credits, regulatory speed of approvals and the top 10 pharma being in our country are some of the key advantages of pursuing clinical research in Canada. The challenges are not small, they are mostly seen in institutional overhead costs vs the non-G7 countries, delays attributable to contracts and budget approvals, loss of many clinical sites over the last 10 years, and finally Canada’s geography is seen as detrimental compared to smaller countries. Elena pointed out 3 significant reasons why Canada should hold and increase its share of clinical trials:

SPEED:

  • Fast regulatory approval
  • 3 months only from time trial setup to 1st patient visit
  • Provincial leadership in REB efficiencies

QUALITY:

  • Patient diversity/recruitment are accommodating vast therapeutic areas of trials
  • World renowned researchers and institutions
  • Ranks top 5 for research reputation in clinical medicine, biomedicine and overall science technology

INCENTIVES:

  • R&D tax burden is the most favorable in the world; additional tax credit by provinces
  • Low Canadian exchange rate
  • Sustainable business environment

In order to boost clinical trials in Canada, several Pan Canadian initiatives such as CCTCC, SPOR, N2 and many others were put forward to address and improve the operation and environment for clinical trials in this country. CCTCC , which stands for ‘’Canadian Clinical Trial Coordinating Center’’, is one of many initiatives with a key objective to implement different projects with industry, government and health care institutions. The goal is to make Canada a destination of choice for clinical trials. Elena provided the audience with examples of different initiatives developed by CCTCC:

  1. CCTAM: Canadian Clinical Trial Asset Map
    • Web based living, easily searchable, interactive Canadian database with research capabilities in investigators, clinical research sites – Hospitals – REB, etc.
  2. Patient Registries:
    • Populating in the CCTAM to facilitate clinical trial feasibility studies and patient recruitment
  3. mCTA : Model Clinical Trial Agreement:
    • Initiative meant to standardize clinical trial agreements and contract negotiations
  4. Fair Market Value Project (FMV)
    • Initiative meant to introduce resource’s/best practices and provincial solutions to reduce clinical trial budget negotiation times

As the second speaker, Nathalie Ouimet, of Montreal InVivo presented key and specific initiatives that were developed by the company in order to increase the contribution of Quebec in the clinical landscape. From 2008-2014, phase 0-2 clinical trials have shown a decrease of 38% compared to 50% when compared to the rest of Canada. Due to the loss of clinical trials in Québec, InVivo was looking at where to position themselves in order to maximize economic benefits. Competing against China or India was surely not the solution. Early stage clinical trials were chosen since Montreal could be recognized as an effective and efficient world-class reference of expertise while improving business environment so that research excellence could flourish and attract more private investments. InVivo participated in the following Quebec initiatives:

EXACTIS Innovation

  • InVivo dispensed funds to provide additional research coordinators to help investigators with the early start and progression of their clinical trials and also to better match specific types of tumors and recruitment of patients

MHICC: Academic CRO

  • The Montreal Heart Institute leads many studies and their reputation is recognized world-wide. Large efforts have been put in building an atherosclerosis imaging network which is very important as a reference background when doing clinical trials. 30,000 patients are part of a bio-bank for genetic research.

C3I: Centre for Commercialization of Cancer Immunotherapy

  • Hôpital Maisonneuve Rosemont has the largest stem cell transplant center in Canada and is therefore a top choice for clinical studies in immunotherapy.

Research Initiative on Rare and Genetic Disease in Adults

  • IRCM carries out clinical research on rare and genetic diseases in adults. Some clinical studies are done in children and this initiative was put forward to gain a better understanding on the adult population.

The 3rd and last speaker of the evening was Dr Tozheg Roshankar, Regional Research Manager Medicines Development Unit, at Eli Lilly and Country lead for Canada TransCelerate.

TransCelerate Biopharma Inc. is a non-profit organization with a mission to collaborate across the biopharmaceutical research and development community to identify, prioritize, design and facilitate the implementation of solutions to drive efficient, effective and high-quality delivery of new medicines to improve the health of people around the world. Before presenting some of the key initiatives developed by TransCelerate, Tozheg asked everyone to see them as a framework/solution designed in a collaborative manner to respond to a problem initially identified.

One of the 5 key strategic priorities in selecting new initiatives is improving the patient experience with clinical trials. Clinical trial sponsors are encountering difficulties with identification, recruiting and retaining patients. The same applies to patients trying to find meaningful clinical trial experience. TransCelerate have created several initiatives focusing on enabling a more informed and aware patient while at the same time decreasing the patient’s burden and promoting new technology.

Patient Initiatives

  • Clinical Research awareness: aimed at providing more accurate information and details to the general public relating to clinical research
  • Clinical Research Access & Information Exchange: Improve availability of meaningful information on clinical trial opportunities and create a reliable source of information
  • Patient Experience: aimed at enabling patient engagement and value realization in clinical trials through patient centric trial design and execution. Understanding the patient perspective is crucial when designing a clinical protocol.
  • Patient technology: aimed at using technology as tools to help and support patients in clinical trials. IPADS are currently being used in many trials for patient assessment which historically had to be done at the HCP office. Other technologies are being studied to capture patient metrics remotely.
  • eConsent: aimed at transforming the hazardous process of traditional consent by using an array of patient focused multi-media components to empower patients to make informed decisions about the consent. PSP are requiring informed consent. Could this initiative be helpful in patient enrolment
  • eLabels: aimed at helping the industry on the journey to digitally supported patient-centric clinical supply chains. This is viewed as a possible toolkit to facilitate external engagement and uptake in the industry
  • Common Protocol Template: aimed at creating a common template in order to ease interpretation and enable downstream.

In conclusion all 3 speakers hoped and felt that with the new initiatives put forward, clinical research in Canada could be reinstated at the level where it deserves.


 

Jo-Ann Charland
Training Consultant and Medical Writer
Email: JoAnn.Charland1@gmail.com
Cell: 438-998-0498
Pharma411

Upcoming meeting

January 23, 2018

Leading a Team to Victory

Cocktails: 5:30 p.m.
Dinner: 6:30 p.m.
Conference: 7:00 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Members Lounge

Conférences précédentes

Le 21 mars 2017

L’ÉVOLUTION DES ESSAIS CLINIQUES

Zeshan Farooqui, de BMS Canada, était l’animateur de la réunion tenue le jour du printemps 2017. Il a accueilli les 3 conférencières de la soirée : Elena Aminkova, PhD, directrice intérimaire de la facilitation de projets du Centre canadien de coordination des essais cliniques; Nathalie Ouimet, MSc, MBA, vice-présidente, Montréal InVivo et Tozheg Roshankar, DMV, chef régional à la recherche clinique à Eli Lilly Canada Inc. et responsable pour le Canada à TransCelerate.

Elena était la première conférencière et, pour préparer le sujet de l’évolution des essais cliniques au Canada, elle a commencé par donner une brève vue d’ensemble des principaux avantages et défis de faire de la recherche clinique dans notre pays. Le Canada se classe au 2e rang parmi les pays du G7 sur le plan de la compétitivité. Les crédits d’impôts fédéraux et provinciaux, la rapidité des approbations réglementaires et la présence des 10 plus grandes sociétés pharmaceutiques dans notre pays font partie des principaux avantages d’effectuer de la recherche clinique au Canada. Les défis ne sont pas minces; il s’agit principalement des frais généraux des établissements comparativement aux pays qui ne sont pas membres du G7, des retards attribuables aux approbations des contrats et des budgets, de la perte de nombreux centres cliniques au cours des 10 dernières années ainsi que de la géographie du Canada qui est jugée nuisible comparativement aux pays plus petits. Elena a fait ressortir trois raisons importantes pour lesquelles le Canada devrait tenir des essais cliniques et en augmenter le nombre :

LA RAPIDITÉ :

  • Approbation règlementaire rapide
  • Seulement 3 mois entre la mise en place d’un essai clinique et la consultation du premier patient
  • Leadership des provinces sur le plan de l’efficacité des comités d’éthique de la recherche

LA QUALITÉ :

  • La diversité/le recrutement des patients sont favorables à des essais cliniques dans de nombreux domaines thérapeutiques
  • Des chercheurs et des établissements de recherche de renommée mondiale
  • Le Canada se classe parmi les 5 meilleurs pays sur le plan de la réputation de la recherche en médecine clinique, en biomédecine et en technologie scientifique en général.

LES INCITATIONS:

  • Le fardeau fiscal de la R-D est le plus favorable dans le monde; crédits d’impôt supplémentaires offerts par les provinces…
  • Le faible taux de change de la monnaie canadienne
  • L’environnement commercial durable

Plusieurs initiatives pancanadiennes ont été mises de l’avant dans le but de stimuler les essais cliniques au Canada; il s’agit entre autres du CCCEC, de la SRAP (stratégie de recherche axée sur le patient) et du N2 (le réseau des réseaux); ils visent l’amélioration du fonctionnement et de l’environnement des essais cliniques au pays. Le CCCEC , qui signifie ‘Centre canadien de coordination des essais cliniques’, est l’une des nombreuses initiatives ayant pour objectif principal de mettre en œuvre différents projets avec l’industrie, le gouvernement et les établissements de santé. Le but est de faire du Canada une destination de choix pour les essais cliniques. Elena a donné quelques exemples des différentes initiatives élaborées par le CCCEC.

  1. IACEC : Inventaire des atouts du Canada pour les essais cliniques
    • Base de données canadienne dynamique, interactive et facile à consulter sur le Web, dotée de capacités de recherche sur les chercheurs, les centres de recherche clinique – les hôpitaux – les comités d’éthique de la recherche, etc.
  2. Registres de patients :
    • Alimentent l’IACEC pour faciliter les études de faisabilité des essais cliniques et le recrutement des patients
  3. MEEC : Modèle d’entente d’essai clinique :
    • Initiative qui vise l’uniformisation des ententes d’essais cliniques et des négociations de contrats
  4. Projet sur la juste valeur marchande (JVM)
    • Initiative qui vise la fourniture de ressources/de meilleures pratiques et des solutions provinciales pour simplifier le processus de négociation budgétaire et réduire les délais de démarrage des essais cliniques

La deuxième conférencière, Nathalie Ouimet, de Montréal InVivo, a présenté les principales initiatives élaborées par l’entreprise pour augmenter la contribution du Québec au paysage clinique. De 2008 à 2014, on a constaté une diminution de 38 % des essais cliniques de phase 0-2 comparativement à 50 % dans le reste du Canada. InVivo cherchait où se positionner pour optimiser les avantages économiques en raison de la perte d’essais cliniques au Québec. Livrer concurrence à la Chine ou à l’Inde n’était sûrement pas la solution. Les essais cliniques de stade précoce ont été choisis étant donné que Montréal pouvait être reconnue en tant que référence d’expertise efficace et efficiente de classe mondiale tout en améliorant l’environnement commercial afin que l’excellence de la recherche puisse proliférer et attirer davantage d’investissements privés. InVivo a participé aux initiatives suivantes du Québec :

INNOVATION EXACTIS

  • InVivo a déboursé des fonds pour fournir des coordinateurs de recherche supplémentaires afin d’aider les chercheurs à donner un départ précoce à leurs essais cliniques et à les faire évoluer, ainsi qu’à mieux coupler des types précis de tumeurs avec des patients recrutés.

Centre de coordination des essais cliniques de Montréal (MHICC) : ORC universitaire

  • L’Institut de cardiologie de Montréal dirige de nombreuses études et sa réputation est reconnue mondialement. De grands efforts ont été consacrés à l’établissement d’un réseau d’imagerie sur l’athérosclérose qui représente une source de référence très importante lors de la tenue d’essais cliniques. Une biobanque aux fins de recherche génétique compte 30 000 patients.

C3I : Centre de commercialisation en immunothérapie du cancer

  • L’Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont est doté du plus grand centre de transplantation de cellules souches au Canada et il représente par conséquent un excellent choix pour mener des études cliniques en immunothérapie.

Centre de recherche sur les maladies rares et génétiques chez l’adulte

  • L’IRCM (Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal) effectue des recherches cliniques sur les maladies rares et génétiques chez l’adulte. De nombreuses études cliniques sont généralement effectuées chez l’enfant. Cette initiative a été mise de l’avant pour acquérir une meilleure compréhension de la population adulte.

La troisième et dernière conférencière était Tozheg Roshankar, DMV, chef régional à recherche à l’Unité de développement de médicaments, Eli Lilly Canada Inc. et responsable pour le Canada à TransCelerate.

TransCelerate Biopharma Inc. est un organisme à but non lucratif qui a pour mission de collaborer dans le milieu de la recherche et du développement biopharmaceutique à la découverte, la priorisation, la conception et la promotion de la mise en œuvre de solutions pour fournir de nouveaux médicaments efficaces et de grande qualité, en vue d’améliorer la santé de la population à l’échelle mondiale. Avant de présenter certaines des initiatives clés élaborées par TransCelerate, Tozheg a demandé aux participants de considérer celles-ci comme un cadre/une solution conçus dans un esprit de collaboration en réponse à un problème déjà déterminé.

L’une des 5 priorités stratégiques clés pour la sélection de nouvelles initiatives est d’améliorer l’expérience des patients lors des essais cliniques. Les commanditaires d’essais cliniques éprouvent des difficultés à repérer, à recruter et à maintenir les patients dans les études. C’est également le cas pour les patients qui essaient de trouver une signification à leur expérience d’essai clinique. TransCelerate a créé plusieurs initiatives axées sur l’habilitation de patients plus informés et renseignés tout en diminuant le fardeau pour le patient et en favorisant les nouvelles technologies.

Initiatives pour les patients

  • Sensibilisation à la recherche clinique : a pour but de fournir des renseignements et des détails plus précis sur la recherche clinique au grand public
  • Accès à la recherche clinique et échange de renseignements : vise à améliorer l’accès à des renseignements éclairants sur les possibilités d’essais cliniques, et à offrir aux patients une source fiable de renseignements
  • Expérience-patient : a pour but de faciliter la mobilisation des patients et l’apport d’une valeur pendant les essais cliniques par le truchement de l’élaboration et de l’exécution d’essais cliniques centrés sur les patients. La compréhension du point de vue des patients est essentielle au moment de l’élaboration d’un protocole d’essai clinique.
  • Technologie et patients : a pour but d’utiliser la technologie à titre d’outils pour aider et soutenir les patients pendant les essais cliniques. On utilise actuellement des tablettes électroniques dans de nombreux essais cliniques pour l’évaluation des patients ce qui, auparavant, devait se faire dans le cabinet d’un médecin. D’autres technologies de saisie à distance des paramètres des patients sont à l’étude.
  • Consentement électronique : vise à transformer le processus hasardeux du consentement traditionnel en utilisant diverses composantes multimédia axées sur le patient pour responsabiliser les patients à prendre des décisions éclairées lors du consentement. Les PSP (programmes de soutien aux patients) exigent un consentement éclairé. Cette initiative pourrait être utile pour l’inscription des patients.
  • Étiquettes électroniques : visent à aider l’industrie sur la voie de chaînes d’approvisionnement clinique centrées sur le patient avec soutien numérique. Pourrait être une trousse à outils pour faciliter la mobilisation externe et l’utilisation dans l’industrie
  • Gabarit de protocole commun : vise à créer un gabarit commun pour faciliter l’interprétation et permettre d’apporter des améliorations en aval.

En conclusion, les trois conférencières espéraient et croyaient que les nouvelles initiatives mises de l’avant pourraient permettre de redonner à la recherche clinique au Canada le niveau qu’elle mérite.


 

Jo-Ann Charland
Training Consultant and Medical Writer
Email: JoAnn.Charland1@gmail.com
Cell: 438-998-0498
Pharma411

Conférences à venir

Passez un bel été et on se verra en Septembre.