PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Events

Past Meetings

May 21, 2019

Focus the Way Forward: Agents of Change

Annual General Meeting -   Shannon Quinn

Shannon Quinn, the President of the PMCQ, opened the meeting and covered the Annual General Meeting:

  • Donations that were collected during the holiday soirée were provided to two Montreal children’s hospitals. The summer social event will take place in June 13th at the Forest & Stream Club in Dorval.
  • Shannon then thanked all the educational sponsors and the corporate partners as well as all the supporting partners.
  • Regarding the club’s financial standing, the year-end question for the finances is for last season (July 2017 – June 2018). The club’s revenues come mainly from sponsorship and memberships dollars. The major expenses are on the monthly meetings and administrative costs are kept at 20-25% of the total revenue and expenses.
  • Shannon then requested a motion to approve the audited financial statement and to close the Board of Director nominations. The members have approved both by show of card.

Shannon then introduced Al Reba, General Manager, Bristol-Myers Squibb who lead the panel’s discussion.

Introduction of Panelists -   Al Reba

  • Stephane Lassignardie: Vice President and General Manager, Abbvie
  • Michael Mullette: President & CEO, Sanofi
  • Sylvie Pilon: Vice President and General Manager, Lundbeck
  • Allison Rosenthal: General Manager, Otsuka

Panelists gave their thoughts on:

The changing external environment and upcoming challenges for the industry

Over the last few years, the pharmaceutical industry has been dealing with important challenges regarding their pricing regulations. The federal government is currently proposing to put in place a national pharmacare and to create a Canadian Drug Agency that would negotiate drug prices. However, the upcoming new guidelines outlined in the Canada Gazette 2 (CG2) represents the immediate challenge the industry is facing. Despite this changing environment, we need to continue being a true partner for the healthcare industry and focus on patients needs.

The pharmaceutical industry would be very supportive of a national pharmacare program that benefits patients and improve drug access. However, the remaining uncertainty around the execution of the program might have an impact on future investments. The industry needs predictability and sustainability to effectively work on bringing innovative drugs to market for patients.

We’ve come a long way and we should be proud of all the efforts the pharmaceutical industry has done so far. We have mobilized as an industry and we have been extremely effective in talking about the impact of our innovations. Currently, there is no known date of when CG2 will come out.  However, we can’t let this uncertain environment paralyse us. We have to keep a positive attitude moving forward and plan for the best.

The pharmaceutical industry is currently in a very uncertain environment and we need to start looking for new solutions. We need to demonstrate to the government that maintaining a vibrant pharmaceutical industry in Canada is essential for patients as well. In order to face this challenging environment, we need to have flexible and adaptable team members who can develop a new kind of partnership between the industry and the payers.

Talent needed in the industry

We need to recruit people based on their potential and not solely based on their skills. The kind of people who show interest in gaining different types of expertise will tend to develop a wide perspective. Also, you need to recruit people who are ready to challenge the status quo and approach issues from different angles.

We look for autonomous people who can work well with ambiguity and who you can also learn from. It’s very important that your team members are comfortable with change and are energised by a fast pace environment.

Variety in a career is extremely important when you’re hiring, and this variety should not be limited to geography. We look for people who have worked for different positions and who have taken on different types of challenges. Communication style is also very important specially as more and more companies are moving towards a vertical organisational structure.

We look for passionate candidates that have deep rooted values and fulfill a clear purpose for themselves. Candidates should also do their own research to find the right organisation and position that meets their own values.

Career development

  • Taking an active role in your career development by engaging different people in the company and learn about different perspectives.
  • Seeking opportunities to make yourselves visible and have the courage to present your ideas.
  • Finding new ways to challenge yourselves while keeping the patients at the heart of everything you do.
  • Seeking positions that take you out of your comfort zone to learn about the entire organisation and grow.
  • Diversify your experience by making lateral moves in the company.
  • Use your current role to expand your skills set.  
  • Act as an ambassador for the pharmaceutical industry and speak about our impact on patients.
  • Keep a positive attitude and try consistently to move forward so we can continue to have a remarkable impact on our patients.

Questions from the audience

What do you anticipate as the greatest area of disruption in pharma?

Certain disease states where there are still unmet medical needs represent an opportunity to offer innovation for patients. Another major evolution that we have to make is regarding the use of digital technology to engage our customers in the best way.

The pharmaceutical industry spent a lot on digital technology, but it is not very well integrated in the business model yet. It needs to be adapted based on customers needs so we can create the right platforms to engage our customers through different channels.

We are moving towards personalised medicine across many different therapeutic areas and this will have a lot of implications on R&D, drug access and clinical trials.

Where do you see growth opportunities in the future?

Patient empowerment is going to be a huge area of growth opportunity. We need to work with patients so they can raise their voice and demand the best possible care and treatments.

Partnership with the government in disease prevention to help people live healthier. We need to start thinking about growth in terms of added value and contribution to society and not only based on products launches so we can see the real impact we make on patients.

Partnership with other disruptors that are out there already and see how we can collaborate with them to better treat patients.


 

Hajar Jarine
Freelance Medical Writer
Cell: 438.580.7913
Courriel: Hajar.jarine@gmail.com

Upcoming meeting

October 16, 2019

Transformation! What it means and how to drive it.

Dinner Meeting
Cocktails: 5:30 p.m.
Dinner: 6:00 p.m.
Panel Discussion: 6:30 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Événements

Conférences précédentes

Le 21 mai 2019

Viser l’avenir : les agents de changement

Shannon Quinn, présidente du CMPQ, a ouvert la réunion en commençant par l’Assemblée générale annuelle :

  • Les dons recueillis lors de la soirée des fêtes ont été octroyé à deux hôpitaux pour enfants de Montréal. L'événement social d'été aura lieu le 13 juin au club Forest & Stream de Dorval.
  • Shannon a ensuite remercié tous les commanditaires des activités éducatives, les entreprises partenaires, ainsi que tous les partenaires de soutien.
  • En ce qui concerne la situation financière du club, la fin d’année en question est celle de la saison dernière (juillet 2017-juin 2018). Les revenus du club proviennent principalement de l’argent des commandites et des adhésions. Les principales dépenses proviennent des réunions mensuelles et les frais administratifs sont maintenus à 20-25% des revenus et dépenses au total.
  • Shannon a ensuite demandé une motion pour approuver les états financiers vérifiés ainsi que les candidatures au conseil d'administration. Les membres ont approuvé les deux motions en présentant leur carte.

Shannon a ensuite présenté Al Reba, directeur général de Bristol-Myers Squibb, qui a dirigé les discussions sous forme de table ronde.

Introduction des invités -   Al Reba

  • Stéphane Lassignardie: Vice-président et directeur général, Abbvie
  • Michael Mullette: Président et PDG, Sanofi
  • Sylvie Pilon: Vice-présidente et directrice générale, Lundbeck
  • Allison Rosenthal: Directrice générale, Otsuka

Les invités ont exprimé leurs opinions sur les sujets ci-dessous :

L’environnement changeant de l’industrie pharmaceutique et ses nouveaux défis

Au cours des dernières années, l’industrie pharmaceutique a fait face à d’importants défis en matière de régulation de prix. D’ailleurs, le gouvernement fédéral propose présentement la mise en place d’un régime national d’assurance-médicaments et la création d’une agence canadienne des médicaments qui assurerait la négociation des prix. Cependant, le défi immédiat auquel l'industrie est confrontée est au niveau des nouvelles lignes directrices publiées dans la partie 2 de la Gazette du Canada (GC2). En dépit de cet environnement changeant, nous devons continuer à être un véritable partenaire du secteur de la santé et à nous concentrer sur les patients et leurs besoins.

L'industrie pharmaceutique serait en faveur d’un programme national d'assurance-médicaments qui bénéficie les patients et améliore l'accès aux médicaments. Cependant, l'incertitude qui subsiste quant à l'exécution du programme pourrait avoir un impact sur les investissements futurs. L'industrie a besoin de prévisibilité et de durabilité pour travailler efficacement à la mise en marché de médicaments innovateurs pour les patients.

Nous avons parcouru un long chemin et nous devrions être fiers de tous les efforts déployés jusqu'à présent par l'industrie pharmaceutique. Nous nous sommes mobilisés en tant qu'industrie et nous avons été extrêmement efficaces pour mettre de l’avant tout l'impact de nos innovations. Présentement, il n’y a pas de date connue pour la sortie de la GC2. Cependant, nous devons garder une attitude positive pour aller de l'avant et planifier pour le meilleur malgré cet environnement incertain.

L’industrie pharmaceutique est présentement dans un environnement très incertain et nous devons commencer à chercher de nouvelles solutions. Nous devons démontrer au gouvernement que le caractère dynamique de l’industrie pharmaceutique au Canada est essentiel pour les patients. Pour faire face à cet environnement changeant, nous avons besoin de membres d’équipe flexibles et adaptables qui seront capables de développer un nouveau type de partenariat entre l’industrie et les payeurs.

Les talents recherchés dans l'industrie

Nous devons recruter des personnes en fonction de leur potentiel et non pas uniquement en fonction de leurs compétences. Par exemple, les personnes désirant acquérir différents types de compétences tendent à développer une perspective plus large. Aussi, vous devez recruter des candidats prêts à contester le statu quo et à aborder les problèmes sous différents angles.

Nous recherchons des personnes autonomes qui sont capables de travailler dans l’ambiguïté et avec lesquelles on peut également apprendre. Il est très important que les membres de votre équipe soient à l’aise avec le changement et qu’ils soient stimulés par un milieu dynamique.

La diversité dans une carrière est un point extrêmement important lors du recrutement, et celle-ci ne devrait pas être limitée au site d’emploi. Nous recherchons des personnes qui ont occupé différents postes et qui ont relevé différents types de défis. Le style de communication est également très important, d'autant plus que les entreprises s'orientent de plus en plus vers une structure organisationnelle verticale.

Nous recherchons des candidats passionnés qui ont des valeurs profondément enracinées et des objectifs clairs. Les candidats doivent également effectuer leurs propres recherches pour trouver l’entreprise et le poste qui correspondent à leurs propres valeurs.

Conseils pour le développement de carrière

  • Jouer un rôle actif dans son développement de carrière en approchant différentes personnes dans l'entreprise et en apprenant davantage sur leurs différentes perspectives. 
  • Chercher des opportunités pour augmenter sa visibilité et avoir le courage de présenter ses idées.
  • Trouver de nouveaux moyens pour se mettre au défi tout en gardant les patients au cœur de toutes les initiatives.
  • Rechercher des postes en dehors de sa zone de confort pour en savoir plus sur l'ensemble de l'organisation et pour se développer.
  • Diversifier son expérience en effectuant des mouvements latéraux dans l'entreprise.
  • Développer ses compétences dans le cadre de son rôle actuel.
  • Agir en tant qu'ambassadeur de l'industrie pharmaceutique et parler de l’impact sur les patients.
  • Garder une attitude positive et essayer constamment de progresser afin de continuer à avoir un impact remarquable sur les patients.

Questions du public

Quels seront selon vous les plus grands champs d’innovation de rupture pour l'industrie pharmaceutique?

Certains champs thérapeutiques où les besoins médicaux ne sont pas encore comblés représentent une opportunité d’innovation pour les patients. Aussi, l’utilisation de la technologie numérique pour approcher au mieux nos clients constitue une révolution majeure que nous devons faire

L’industrie pharmaceutique a beaucoup investit au niveau de la technologie numérique, mais celle-ci n’est pas encore très bien intégrée au modèle commercial. Il faudra se baser sur les besoins de nos clients afin que nous puissions s’adapter et créer les bonnes plates-formes pour les engager à travers différents canaux de communication.

Nous nous orientons vers la médecine personnalisée dans de nombreux champs thérapeutiques et cela aura de nombreuses répercussions sur la recherche et développement, l’accès aux médicaments ainsi que les essais cliniques.

Où voyez-vous les opportunités de croissance dans le futur?

La responsabilisation des patients constituera un grand champ d'opportunités de croissance. Nous devons travailler avec les patients pour qu'ils puissent faire entendre leur voix et revendiquer les meilleurs soins et traitements possibles.

Le partenariat avec le gouvernement dans le domaine de prévention des maladies pour aider les gens à vivre plus sainement. Aussi, nous devons commencer à réfléchir à la croissance en termes de valeur ajoutée et de contribution à la société, et pas seulement sur la base de lancements de produits. Cela permettra de mieux apprécier l'impact réel sur les patients.

Le partenariat avec des promoteurs d’innovation de rupture déjà existants sur le marché en vue d’une collaboration potentielle pour mieux traiter les patients.


 

Hajar Jarine
Freelance Medical Writer
Cell: 438.580.7913
Courriel: Hajar.jarine@gmail.com

Conférences à venir

18 septembre 2019

Ensemble, optimisons les résultats plus rapidement

Dîner d'affaires
Cocktail : 17 h 30
Souper : 18 h 00
Présentation : 18 h 30

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire