PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Members Lounge

Past Meetings

November 20, 2012
Career Life Cycle Management
What You Need to Do to Prepare for and Thrive in Pharma

The evening kicked off with Adam Siskind, the Office Managing Principal of ZS Associates in Toronto. His talk began with a quick poll of the audience, asking how optimistic they were about the future of pharma. Forty-two percent responded that they were somewhat optimistic, 12% were very optimistic and 15% were neutral. Despite these responses, Adam felt that there is a lot of excitement in the industry and that it’s the right time to be in it. Pharma no longer has blockbuster drugs, which has changed its focus to specialty areas, such as oncology. As a result, there is now an increasing importance of other roles in organizations. Marketing is far more complex than it has ever been which has led to global opportunities and portfolio diversification.

The industry has seen a shift in the allocation of sales within organizations. The areas that are increasing include portfolio sales and marketing, customer marketing, public affairs, medical roles, business development and compliance. Global opportunities are also a new trend. Canada has been growing at a slower rate, so there is more opportunity in Asia and India, for example. These emerging markets are growing by 10 to 20%, so if someone is willing to be mobile, they open themselves up to more opportunities.

Another growing trend is portfolio diversification. As a result, marketing is becoming more complex with more and new customers that require different marketing strategies. Developing these strategies requires expertise that wasn’t needed 10 years ago and the delivery channels for marketing are also completely different. Marketing no longer involves just sales reps, samples and journal ads. We now have to address digital channels, like social networking, patient blogs and e-detailing. Other trends that require strong marketing minds are personalized healthcare, navigating and managing the private/public divide and customer centricity. A survey done last year indicated that the hottest trends in the industry were customer experience, patient-centricity, new technologies, reimbursement and cost containment.

Adam concluded that all these new trends in pharma are what’s making it very exciting and the right time to be in the industry.

The second speaker of the night was Henry Curtis, Executive Coach and Principal Consultant with Right Management, and he spoke about pharma career management. Henry also kicked off his talk by polling the audience, asking them how engaged they felt they were with their current employer. Forty-eight percent said they were highly engaged and 23% said “quite a lot”. Henry began by pointing out that many pharma companies are restructuring, forcing smaller amounts of people to perform the same amount of work. As a result, human resources in pharma are faced with the task of keeping employee maintenance costs down while retaining talented employees. Employee retention is an issue related to cost containment, because the cost of recruiting new employees is very high and increases with higher level positions. Henry said that the three keys to happiness at work are emotion, engagement and meaning. Sources of stress at work are unpredictability, new things, lack of control over what’s going on and events that call our self-image into question. Being in an industry, such as pharma, that is undergoing unpredictable change can be very stressful.

However, Henry pointed out that there is a new work culture being introduced in which employees are becoming more accountable and responsible for the development of their careers. This culture is empowering people and helping them be more creative. For example, it is changing the role of the manager to facilitate things rather than police them. This culture is also encouraging employees to be more productive with ideas like meeting-free days and working from home. It’s also encouraging a work-life balance and the promotion of women to senior positions. Henry pointed out an interesting statistic: 40% of Canadian companies don’t have any women on their board of directors, despite the fact that there is a strong correlation between having women in senior positions and being a high performing company.

What types of employees are losing their jobs? Henry said that they include people whose jobs are no longer needed, people who are no longer aligned with company strategies, who are too expensive for what they produce, who aren’t seen as valuable, who aren’t selling their talents enough internally, people who complain, who don’t learn, and who don’t know where they are going within an organization. How can we “fireproof” ourselves so that we don’t lose our jobs? Henry offered some great tips, which included:

  • Take charge of your own career and keep your CV up to date.
  • Keep our eyes open and stay aware of your business environment.
  • Be open and ready for change.
  • Stay aligned with your employer’s needs.
  • Ensure your employer knows the good things you do.
  • Find creative solutions and be subversive when necessary.
  • Market yourself and invest time and money in your own growth.
  • Develop a personal brand and a reputation for curiosity.
  • Have a reputation for being positive and upbeat.
  • Network to learn and develop credibility and expertise.
  • Work to develop your own visibility and credibility.

 

Henry concluded by offering some networking tips. He encouraged everyone to get a LinkedIn account and “link up” with friends and colleagues. He did caution though that quality is more important than quantity when it comes to connections! Another tip offered was to Google “social media research and analytics Lynne MacMaster”. She offers a plethora of information on creativity, innovation and social networking. Finally, Henry encouraged us to network as much as possible and to get engaged and committed to our companies, associations and fields of interest.

Our moderator for the night, Stuart Lourie, Vice President of Sales and Marketing at the Canadian Heart Research Center, concluded the evening by hosting a question and answer period. The two panellists fielded questions from the audience regarding digital networking, social media etiquette and mentoring within the workforce. Their excellent advice and suggestions provided a most valuable ending to the evening.

Lara Holmes
Medical Writer
Email: lholmes@videotron.ca
Cell: 514-425-4977
LinkedIn Profile
Pharma411

Upcoming meeting

November 20, 2018

Patient Support Programs - Trending or Transformative

Dinner Meeting
Cocktails: 5:30 p.m.
Dinner: 6:15 p.m.
Panel Discussion: 7:00 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Salon des membres

Conférences précédentes

20 novembre 2012
La gestion du cycle de vie de votre carrière
Ce que vous devez faire pour vous préparer à l’industrie pharmaceutique et pour y prospérer

Adam Siskind, Associé directeur principal de ZS Associates à Toronto a ouvert la soirée. Sa conférence a débuté par un sondage rapide de l’auditoire. Il a demandé aux participants quel était leur degré d’optimisme quant à l’avenir de l’industrie pharmaceutique. Assez optimiste fut la réponse de 42 % des participants, tandis que 12 % étaient très optimistes et 15 % étaient neutres. Malgré ces réponses, Adam estime qu’il se passe beaucoup de choses dans l’industrie et que c’est une bonne période pour en faire partie. L’industrie pharmaceutique n’a plus de produits vedettes, ce qui l’a amenée à se concentrer sur des domaines spécialisés, comme l’oncologie. Par conséquent, certaines autres fonctions au sein des entreprises connaissent une importance croissante. Le marketing est beaucoup plus complexe qu’il ne l’a jamais été, ce qui a mené à des possibilités mondiales et à une diversification des portefeuilles.

L’industrie a connu un virage sur le plan de la répartition des ventes au sein des entreprises. Les domaines en croissance sont les ventes et le marketing de portefeuilles, le marketing consommateur, les relations publiques, les fonctions médicales, la prospection des marchés et la conformité. Les possibilités mondiales constituent également une nouvelle tendance. La croissance du Canada est plus lente, de sorte que les possibilités sont plus nombreuses en Asie et en Inde. Ces marchés émergents connaissent une croissance de 10 % à 20 % et une personne qui est prête à déménager s’ouvre à un plus grand nombre de possibilités.

La diversification des portefeuilles est une autre tendance en croissance. Par conséquent, le marketing devient plus complexe et compte plus de nouveaux clients pour lesquels il faut avoir des stratégies de marketing différentes. L’élaboration de ces stratégies nécessite une expertise qui n’était pas nécessaire il y a dix ans, et les voies de distribution du marketing sont également complètement différentes. Le marketing n’est plus simplement une question de représentants, d’échantillons et d’annonces dans les revues. Nous devons à présent maîtriser les voies numériques, comme les réseaux sociaux, les blogues des patients et les présentations électroniques. D’autres tendances exigent elles-aussi des esprits marketing bien affûtés ; il s’agit des soins de santé personnalisés, de l’exploration et de la gestion de la séparation entre les secteurs public et privé et de l’approche centrée sur le client. Un sondage effectué l’an dernier a révélé que ce qui était le plus tendance était l’expérience-client, l’approche centrée sur le client, les nouvelles technologies, le remboursement et la limitation des coûts.

Adam a conclu que toutes ces nouvelles tendances sont ce qui rend l’industrie pharmaceutique si stimulante et que c’est le bon moment d’y être.

Henry Curtis, coach exécutif et consultant principal auprès de Right Management, était le deuxième conférencier de la soirée. Il a parlé de la gestion de la carrière au sein de l’industrie pharmaceutique. Henry a lui aussi débuté par un sondage dans lequel il demandait aux participants à quel point ils se sentaient mobilisés avec leur employeur actuel. Parmi les répondants, 48 % se sont dits très mobilisés et 23 % ont répondu « pas mal mobilisés ». Henry a fait remarquer que de nombreuses sociétés pharmaceutiques sont en pleine restructuration, ce qui oblige des plus petits groupes de personnes à accomplir la même quantité de travail. Par conséquent, les services de Ressources humaines de ces entreprises se doivent de maintenir les coûts de maintien des employés au plus bas tout en retenant les talents. La rétention du personnel est un problème qui est lié à la limitation des coûts, parce que le coût du recrutement de nouveaux employés est très élevé et plus le poste est élevé, plus il augmente. Henry a déclaré que les trois clés du bonheur au travail sont émotion, mobilisation et signification. Les sources de stress au travail sont l’imprévisibilité, la nouveauté, l’absence de contrôle sur ce qui se passe et les évènements qui nous font douter de notre image de soi. Cela peut être très stressant que de faire partie d’une industrie qui connaît des changements imprévisibles, comme l’industrie pharmaceutique.

Henry a toutefois signalé qu’une nouvelle culture du travail fait son apparition, dans laquelle les employés deviennent de plus en plus responsables du déroulement de leur carrière. Cette culture responsabilise les personnes et les aide à devenir plus créatives. Par exemple, elle modifie le rôle du gestionnaire qui facilite plutôt que de régenter. Cette culture encourage aussi les employés à être plus productifs, avec des idées comme des journées sans réunion et le travail à son domicile. Elle favorise aussi un équilibre entre le travail et la vie personnelle et la promotion des femmes à des postes de direction. Henry a relevé une statistique intéressante : 40 % des entreprises canadiennes n’ont aucune femme au sein de leur conseil d’administration, malgré le fait qu’il y a une forte corrélation entre avoir des femmes qui occupent des postes de direction et être une entreprise très performante.

Quelles sont les catégories d’employés qui perdent leur emploi? Henry a précisé que ce sont des personnes dont les postes ne sont plus nécessaires, des personnes qui ne sont plus en phase avec les stratégies de l’entreprise, celles qui coûtent trop cher pour ce qu’elles produisent, celles dont la valeur n’est pas perçue, celles qui ne vendent pas assez leur talent à l’interne, les personnes qui se plaignent, celles qui n’apprennent pas et celles qui ne savent pas où elles vont au sein d’une entreprise. Comment pouvons-nous nous « blinder » pour ne pas perdre notre emploi ? Henry avait quelques excellents conseils à partager :

  • Assumez la charge de votre propre carrière et maintenez votre CV à jour.
  • Gardez les yeux ouverts et restez conscients de votre environnement professionnel.
  • Soyez ouverts et prêts au changement.
  • Restez en harmonie avec les besoins de votre employeur.
  • Ne manquez pas de faire connaître vos bons coups à votre employeur.
  • Trouvez des solutions créatives et soyez subversifs au besoin.
  • Vendez-vous et investissez temps et argent dans votre propre croissance.
  • Créez votre marque personnelle et bâtissez-vous une réputation de curiosité.
  • Ayez la réputation d’une personne positive et dynamique.
  • Réseautez pour apprendre et acquérir de la crédibilité et une expertise.
  • Travaillez au perfectionnement de votre propre visibilité et de votre crédibilité.

 

En conclusion, Henry a offert des conseils de réseautage. Il a incité chaque personne à ouvrir un compte LinkedIn et à établir des liens avec des amis et collègues. Il a cependant averti que la qualité est plus importante que la quantité sur le plan des relations ! Un autre conseil fut de faire une recherche dans « Google » sur « médias sociaux recherche et analyse Lynne MacMaster ». Elle offre une pléthore de renseignements sur la créativité, l’innovation et le réseautage social. Henry a conclu en nous invitant tous à réseauter le plus possible et à nous sentir mobilisés et engagés envers nos entreprises, associations et domaines d’intérêts.

Stuart Lourie, vice-président des ventes et du marketing au Canadian Heart Research Center, était l’animateur de la soirée. Il a conclu celle-ci par une période de questions et réponses. Les deux conférenciers ont répondu aux questions des participants au sujet du réseautage numérique, de l’étiquette des médias sociaux et du mentorat auprès de l’effectif. Les des deux conférenciers ont conclu la soirée de façon très intéressante, sur d’excellents conseils et suggestions.

 

Lara Holmes
Medical Writer
Courriel: lholmes@videotron.ca
Cell: 514-425-4977
Profile LinkedIn
Pharma411

 

Conférences à venir

23 janvier 2018

Mener une équipe à la victoire

Cocktail : 17 h 30
Souper : 18 h 30
Conférence : 19 h

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire