PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Members Lounge

Past Meetings


Dr. Shore, Building a Better Brand

With consumers making an increased number of decisions based on emotion rather than knowledge, branding is becoming significantly more important. And the more important a decision is, and the less knowledgeable the consumer about purchase options, the more crucial a brand becomes.

David Shore took a captivated audience through the steps of building brand equity in his October 17th presentation to PMCQ, beginning with a simple equation that defines the notion of brand equity - BE=SA+PQ+SD. Translated, this formula means that brand equity equals strategic awareness, plus perceived quality and singular distinction. Marketers can create a customer base through strategic awareness, while retaining these customers requires that perceived quality is more than just a promise.

Strategic awareness includes such things as recognition of the name, strong positioning, and consistent use of a well-recognized symbol or logo. Slogans and spokespersons also factor strongly into awareness. Perceived quality, the sec-ond denominator in the equation, is identified as the consumer’s idea of what the brand represents in terms of excellence, value and pricing versus other products in the same class or category.

Singular distinction focuses on product differentiation, on positive associations, and on the customer loyalty the brand has managed to engender.

Building a "power" brand, said Shore, is a matter of establishing effective trust in a brand, but beyond that, providing emotional cues that turn the facts about the brand into warm feelings.

Settling on a brand identity - how you want it to be perceived - and then ensuring that the concept is aligned with a powerful brand image is the key to success, as are simplicity and consistency in message.

Marketing pharmaceuticals presents a particular challenge because the consumer has no way of assessing the product. By building knowledge about the product, a more knowledgeable consumer will be likely to ask his or her physician for it by brand name - and US statistics suggest that 35% of patients got a prescription for the product they asked for.

Finally, brand equity must be protected at all costs, and it is inherent upon any organization to ensure that all new employees receive brand orientation. Orienting the consumer to your product is the ultimate goal, says Mr. Shore. "First you make them awareþthen you make them care".

Patricia Brown
Manx Communications

Upcoming meeting

Have a great summer and see you in September.

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Salon des membres

Conférences précédentes


Dr. Shore,
Consolider une marque

Comme les consommateurs fondent un nombre croissant de leurs choix sur les émotions plutôt que sur la connaissance, le marquage revêt une importance d'autant plus grande. Plus la décision est importante et moins le consommateur connaît les options qui s'offrent à lui, plus la marque devient cruciale.

Lors de sa présentation du 17 octobre dernier au CMPQ, David Shore a expliqué les étapes à suivre pour bâtir le capital d'une marque, la première étant une équation toute simple pour définir la notion du capital de marque : CM=SS+QP+CD. En clair, cette équation signifie que le capital d'une marque est la somme de la sensibilisation stratégique, de la qualité perçue et du caractère distinctif. Les spécialistes du marketing peuvent créer une clientèle grâce à la sensibilisation stratégique, mais, pour retenir cette clientèle, la qualité perçue doit aller au-delà d'une simple promesse.

La sensibilisation stratégique fait référence à des facteurs comme la reconnaissance du nom, un positionnement fort et l'utilisation systématique d'un symbole ou d'un logo bien connu. Les slogans et les porte-parole sont aussi des éléments qui contribuent passablement à la sensibilisation. La qualité perçue, deuxième dénominateur de l'équation, correspond à l'idée que se fait le consommateur de l'excellence, de la valeur et du prix de la marque comparativement à d'autres produits de la même classe ou catégorie.

Le caractère distinctif fait référence à la différenciation du produit, aux associations positives et à la loyauté de la clientèle envers la marque.

Pour bâtir une marque «forte», affirme Shore, il faut obtenir la confiance du consommateur. Cela dit, il faut d'abord et avant tout tabler sur des indicateurs émotionnels qui transforment les caractéristiques de la marque en des éléments réconfortants.

L'établissement d'une identité - c'est-à-dire la façon dont vous souhaitez que la marque soit perçue - puis l'association d'un concept et d'une image de marque forte sont la clé du succès, tout comme la simplicité et l'uniformité du message.

La commercialisation des produits pharmaceutiques pose un défi particulier, parce que le consommateur n'a aucun moyen d'évaluer le produit. Il est probable que le consommateur éclairé fasse référence à la marque du produit lorsqu'il parlera du produit à son médecin. D'après les statistiques américaines, 35% des patients reçoivent une ordonnance pour les produits qu'ils demandent.

Enfin, le capital d'une marque doit être protégé à tout prix. Il incombe à chaque entreprise de bien renseigner tous ses nouveaux employés sur ses marques. L'objectif ultime est d'amener le client vers votre produit, affirme Shore. «Commencez par le sensibiliser... puis gagnez sa loyauté.»

Patricia Brown
Manx Communications

Upcoming meeting

Have a great summer and see you in September.