PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 

View Photos 

Events

Past Meetings


October 16, 2019
Transformation! What it means and how to drive it

We are often asked to achieve objectives that seem unattainable, but many things are possible when we have the right skills and mindset.  At our October meeting, our expert panel taught us why we keep getting stuck in the same ruts, and how members at all levels of a company can create both personal and organizational transformation with some introspection and willingness to take risks. We also heard a great case study about Uber!

Read More

September 18, 2019
Optimizing outcomes faster - together

We kicked off a new season of PMCQ meetings with a panel of speakers showing us how one non-profit is helping to drive the efficient delivery of innovative new medicines with solutions that benefit patients, researchers, health care providers, payers, and the pharmaceutical industry alike. This event left us with clear insight into the pioneering mission, strategy and operations of TransCelerate BioPharma.

Read More

May 21, 2019
Focus the Way Forward: Agents of Change

Shannon Quinn, the President of the PMCQ, opened the meeting and covered the Annual General Meeting:

  • Donations that were collected during the holiday soirée were provided to two Montreal children’s hospitals. The summer social event will take place in June 13th at the Forest & Stream Club in Dorval.
  • Shannon then thanked all the educational sponsors and the corporate partners as well as all the supporting partners.
  • Regarding the club’s financial standing, the year-end question for the finances is for last season (July 2017 – June 2018). The club’s revenues come mainly from sponsorship and memberships dollars. The major expenses are on the monthly meetings and administrative costs are kept at 20-25% of the total revenue and expenses.
  • Shannon then requested a motion to approve the audited financial statement and to close the Board of Director nominations. The members have approved both by show of card.

Read More

April 17, 2019
How Empathy Can Transform Health Care

Health care is more advanced than ever. Unfortunately, each technological advance takes health professionals further and further away from empathizing with patients. Drawing on examples from his provocative radio show, White Coat, Black Art, and his experience as the son of aging parents who were frequent users of modern health care, Dr. Goldman talked about the growing lack of empathy in health care, the causes, the impact, and how to put care back into health care.

Read More

March 19, 2019
Boosting Launch Trajectory: Lessons from 40 product launches

For our March meeting, we invited Bill McLay and Ian McQueen, co-founders of MATRIX Healthcare Strategists, a Canadian consulting firm focused on pipeline assessments, launch planning, brand strategy and commercial execution for Canadian pharmaceutical companies. As experienced senior marketers in the pharma industry, they have supported 40 product launches since the start of their company in 2014. They shared their knowledge of the most common challenges preventing launch success and highlighted several actionable tips to increase the probability of a successful launch.

Read More

February 19, 2019
Better Access with National Pharmacare: Reality or Illusion?

Through a panel discussion featuring local Canadian Pharma experts, we explored the implications of a national pharmacare program and how it could impact citizens, patients and the pharmaceutical industry.

Read More

January 22, 2019
MARIJUANA MYTHS AND FACTS: The Future of Cannabis in the Pharmaceutical Industry

Ms. Karina Lahnakoski: Vice-President Quality and Regulatory at Cannabis Compliance Inc. She has expertise in International cannabis licensing, and 20 years experience in regulated industries (cannabis/bio/pharmaceutical/medical device).

Read More

November 20, 2018
Patient Support Programs - Trending or Transformative

Their Place Today and Tomorrow — a sold out event!

Gaps in our healthcare system and other landscape complexities make a Patient Support Program (PSP) an avenue to marketing pharmaceutical products and creating equity for brands. This sold out meeting covered an overview of the evolution of PSPs in the Canadian healthcare landscape and the direction they are going; the different models, structure and stakeholders involved; the opportunities and costs associated to PSPs; and best practices for running a PSP.

Read More

October 17, 2018
Hiring for the right fit: an inquisitive approach to hiring

In some industries, the hiring process doesn’t seem to change, but with the unemployment rate at a historic low, talent acquisition has reached a breaking point and we need to take a new look at how we are hiring. At our October event, our guest speaker, Philippe Glaude, showed us how to lay new foundations and methodology for hiring the right people, develop unique and profound questions to reveal the true person in each candidate, increase the quality of hiring decisions, and adapt the principles to be a better candidate and ensure every interview actually promotes the full potential each of us can offer.

Read More

September 25, 2018
A reflection on digital pharma practices

For several years, pharmaceutical companies have been leveraging digital practices across many functional areas. It’s time we take stock of what we’ve learned and where we are going next. In the kick-off meeting for the 2018–2019 season, we invited a panel of local Canadian pharma experts to discuss the current status and recent evolution of digital business practices in pharma, as well as how digital strategies can apply specifically to Medical, Sales, and Marketing.

Read More

May 15, 2018
Running on Empty: Manage Your Energy, Manage Your Stress

Times flies when you are leading into tomorrow! This meeting was the final meeting of the season and also the Annual General Meeting, during which we discussed the season’s milestones, participation, audited finances, and closed our Board nominations. We then heard from Dr. David Posen, a best-selling author and expert on stress management.  He talked to us about energy management, stress reduction, and taking control of our lives.

Read More

April 25, 2018
Empowerment for Life: Partnering with patient organizations for better healthcare outcomes

Christine Montgrain, National Manager, Community Relations at Abbvie opened the meeting by discussing the objectives of the presentations:

  • Understand the role of patient associations and their governance models
  • Learn how they make a difference in patients’ health outcomes
  • Gain a deeper understanding of how industry can partner with patient associations

Read More

March 20, 2018
Immuno-oncology: Changing the face of cancer

The members of the PMCQ celebrated the first day of spring by discussing how new growth is happening in Pharma’s own backyard, especially in immuno-oncology (IO), the new and exciting field of cancer therapy that is going to help us conquer cancer. We learned about how IO works and how we as an industry can better serve patients and medical oncologists.

Read More

February 27, 2018
PMPRB Changes: Industry Outlook and Impact – What You Should Know

February’s meeting covered the topic of impending changes to the price review process guideline by the Patented Medicine Prices Review Board (PMPRB), a critical issue and political hot topic that deeply impacts the pharmaceutical industry in Canada and internationally. The meeting featured a live expert panelist exchange. We reviewed how medication pricing has historically happened in Canada, the PMPRB’s newly-proposed processes to determine excessive pricing, and the implications these changes will have on the industry.

Read More

January 23, 2018
Leading a Team to Victory

With the 2018 Winter Olympics in PyeongChang just around the corner, the members of the PMCQ are getting into the Olympic spirit! The speaker at January’s event was Danièle Sauvageau, the former first head coach of the Canadian Women’s Olympic Hockey Team, which won the gold medal in women’s ice hockey for the first time at the 2002 Winter Olympics. Danièle’s presentation inspired us to aim for gold as leaders of our own teams.

Read More

November 22, 2017
Propel Yourself into the Future!

To propel yourself into the future is an interesting idea, but how does one go about doing that? Do you strap on a jet pack and count down to take-off? It feels overwhelming and intimidating, to be sure. If you are searching for the fuel to get you started on your figurative jet pack adventure, November’s PMCQ event, attended by more than 150 people, was exactly the kind of fact-packed, resource-rich, future-focused meeting you needed to get you fired up and leading your way into tomorrow.

Read More

October 18, 2017
Get ready for artificial intelligence. It’s coming - and NOW!

Artificial intelligence: friend or foe? Are we facing our own impending doom by this proliferating technology we’ve been warned about from countless apocalyptic sci-fi movies, or should we welcome this humble and helpful servant to faithfully carry out the menial tasks that we can’t be bothered to do anymore? Anthony Panetta and Brett Miles of Pfizer helped us gain some clarity on these important questions at October’s PMCQ event.

Read More

September 26, 2017
Change your mind. Change your life.

Shannon Quinn, the PMCQ president, opened the first event of the 2017-2018 season by welcoming back everyone and introducing this year’s theme, “Leading into tomorrow,” which was chosen to present the upcoming issues and topics affecting the pharmaceutical industry. Shannon provided an overview of the topics that will be presented over the next few months. She also informed the audience that the PMCQ is now a company page on LinkedIn, and its objective is to share relevant and educational content in order to keep everyone well informed. Everyone was invited to follow the PMCQ on LinkedIn. Shannon finished by thanking this event’s generous sponsors from all different levels: Educational, Corporate, and Supporting Partners.

Read More

 

Click here to see past meetings archives

Upcoming meeting

December 3, 2019

The Holiday Soirée

Cocktail dinatoire
Time: 5:30 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site

Visionner les photos 

Événements

Conférences précédentes


Le 21 mai 2019
Viser l’avenir : les agents de changement

Shannon Quinn, présidente du CMPQ, a ouvert la réunion en commençant par l’Assemblée générale annuelle :

  • Les dons recueillis lors de la soirée des fêtes ont été octroyé à deux hôpitaux pour enfants de Montréal. L'événement social d'été aura lieu le 13 juin au club Forest & Stream de Dorval.
  • Shannon a ensuite remercié tous les commanditaires des activités éducatives, les entreprises partenaires, ainsi que tous les partenaires de soutien.
  • En ce qui concerne la situation financière du club, la fin d’année en question est celle de la saison dernière (juillet 2017-juin 2018). Les revenus du club proviennent principalement de l’argent des commandites et des adhésions. Les principales dépenses proviennent des réunions mensuelles et les frais administratifs sont maintenus à 20-25% des revenus et dépenses au total.
  • Shannon a ensuite demandé une motion pour approuver les états financiers vérifiés ainsi que les candidatures au conseil d'administration. Les membres ont approuvé les deux motions en présentant leur carte.

Pour continuer

Le 17 avril 2019
Comment l’empathie peut transformer les soins de santé

Les soins de santé sont plus avancés que jamais. Malheureusement, chaque avancée technologique éloigne de plus en plus les professionnels de la santé de l’empathie envers les patients. S'appuyant sur des exemples tirés de son émission de radio provocante White Coat, Black Art et de son expérience en tant que fils de parents âgés qui étaient des utilisateurs fréquents des soins de santé modernes, le Dr Goldman a parlé du manque d'empathie grandissant des soins de santé, de ses causes, de ses répercussions et des manières de réintégrer la notion de « bienveillance » dans les soins de santé.

Pour continuer

Le 19 mars 2019
Stimuler la trajectoire d’un lancement: leçons tirées de 40 lancements de produits

Pour notre réunion de mars, nous avons invité Bill McLay et Ian McQueen, cofondateurs de MATRIX Healthcare Strategists, une société canadienne de consultation axée sur les évaluations de filons de produits, la planification de lancements, les stratégies de marque et l’exécution des décisions commerciales pour les sociétés pharmaceutiques canadiennes. Depuis le début de l’entreprise en 2014, les conférenciers, qui ont une grande expérience du marketing dans l’industrie pharmaceutique, ont soutenu 40 lancements de produits. Ils nous ont fait part de leurs connaissances relatives aux difficultés les plus courantes qui empêchent la réussite des lancements et ils ont présenté plusieurs trucs pertinents pour augmenter la probabilité de réussite lancement.

Pour continuer

Le 19 février 2019
Un accès amélioré avec un régime national d’assurance-médicaments : réalité ou illusion?

Nous avons exploré les conséquences d’un régime national d’assurance-médicaments et les répercussions qu’il pourrait avoir sur les citoyens, les patients et sur l’industrie pharmaceutique, dans le cadre d’une table ronde composée d’experts locaux de l’industrie pharmaceutique.

Pour continuer

Le 22 janvier 2019
MYTHES ET FAITS SUR LA MARIJUANA : L’avenir du cannabis dans l’industrie pharmaceutique

Mme Karina Lahnakoski : vice-présidente, Qualité et réglementation à Cannabis Compliance Inc. Elle possède une expertise dans l’octroi de permis internationaux pour le cannabis et 20 années d’expérience dans des industries réglementées (cannabis/bio/pharmaceutique/dispositifs médicaux).

Pour continuer

Le 20 novembre 2018
Les programmes de soutien au patient : une tendance ou une transformation

Survol du présent et de l’avenir — une activité à guichet fermé!

Un programme de soutien au patient (PSP) devient une piste pour combler les lacunes de notre système de santé et les autres complexités du marché en vue de commercialiser des produits pharmaceutiques et renforcer la valeur des marques. Durant cette réunion à guichet fermé, on a fait un survol de l’évolution des programmes de soutien au patient dans le contexte des soins de santé au Canada et de la direction que prendront ces programmes à l’avenir; abordé les différents modèles opérationnels, leur structure et les parties prenantes; compris les occasions d’affaires engendrées par un PSP et les coûts associés et découvert les meilleures pratiques pour mener un PSP.

Pour continuer

Le 17 octobre 2018
Embaucher la bonne personne : une approche perspicace pour votre recrutement

Dans certaines industries, le processus d’embauche ne semble pas changer or, avec un taux de chômage qui n’a jamais été aussi bas, l’acquisition de talents a atteint un point de rupture et nous devons revoir, avec de nouvelles perspectives, nos méthodes d’embauche de nouveaux employés. À notre activité d’octobre, Philippe Glaude, notre conférencier invité, nous a expliqué comment établir de nouveaux fondements et une nouvelle méthodologie pour recruter les bonnes personnes, élaborer des questions uniques et réfléchies pour révéler la vraie nature de chaque candidat, augmenter la qualité des décisions d’embauche et adapter les principes pour être un meilleur candidat et s’assurer que chaque entretien favorise le plein potentiel que chacun d’entre nous peut offrir.

Pour continuer

Le 25 septembre 2018
Une réflexion sur les pratiques numériques dans l’industrie pharmaceutique

Les entreprises pharmaceutiques ont tiré profit des pratiques numériques dans de nombreux secteurs fonctionnels depuis plusieurs années. Le moment est venu de faire le point sur ce que nous avons appris et ce vers quoi nous nous dirigeons. Pour la réunion de lancement de la saison 2018–2019, nous avons invité un groupe de spécialistes locaux de l’industrie pharmaceutique canadienne pour discuter de la situation actuelle et de l’évolution récente des pratiques commerciales numériques dans l’industrie pharmaceutique, ainsi que des applications possibles des stratégies numériques aux services médicaux, des ventes et du marketing.

Pour continuer

15 mai 2018
Au bout du rouleau : Gérez votre énergie, gérez votre stress

Le temps file quand on évolue vers l’avenir! Cette réunion était la dernière de la saison et coïncidait avec l’Assemblée générale annuelle, pendant laquelle nous avons discuté des jalons de la saison, de la participation, des états financiers vérifiés et nous avons conclu les nominations à notre Conseil. Nous avons ensuite écouté le Dr David Posen, auteur à succès et expert en gestion du stress. Il nous a parlé de la gestion de l’énergie, de la diminution du stress et de prendre le contrôle de notre vie.

Pour continuer

25 avril 2018
Le pouvoir d’agir: Partenariat avec les associations de patients pour améliorer les résultats en matière de soins de santé

Christine Montgrain, chef national en relations communautaires, chez Abbvie a ouvert la soirée en discutant des objectifs des présentations:

  • Comprendre le rôle des associations de patients et leurs modèles de gouvernance
  • Apprendre comment elles font une différence dans les résultats qu’obtiennent les patients en matière de soins de santé
  • Mieux comprendre de quelle manière l’industrie peut établir des partenariats avec les associations de patients.

Pour continuer

20 mars 2018
Immuno-oncologie : Une nouvelle approche au traitement du cancer

Les membres du CMPQ ont célébré le premier jour du printemps en discutant des domaines en croissance dans l’industrie pharmaceutique, et plus particulièrement de l’immuno-oncologie (IO), le nouveau domaine très prometteur dans le traitement du cancer, qui nous aidera à vaincre le cancer. Nous avons appris comment fonctionne l’IO et comment nous pouvons mieux servir les patients et les oncologues médicaux en tant qu’industrie.

Pour continuer

27 février 2018
Perspective sur les changements du CEPMB; Impact sur notre industrie – Ce que vous devez savoir

La réunion de février avait pour sujet les changements imminents aux lignes directrices du processus de révision des prix par le Conseil d’examen du prix des médicaments brevetés (CEPMB), un enjeu critique et un sujet politique brûlant qui a des répercussions profondes sur l’industrie pharmaceutique au Canada et à l’échelle internationale. Un échange d’idées par un groupe d’experts avait lieu pendant la réunion. Nous avons examiné l’historique de la fixation des prix au Canada, le nouveau processus proposé par le CEPMB pour déterminer les prix excessifs ainsi que les répercussions que ces changements auront sur l’industrie.

Pour continuer

23 janvier 2018
Mener une équipe à la victoire

Les membres du CMPQ se mettent dans l’esprit olympique, avec l’approche des Jeux olympiques d’hiver à PyeongChang! Danièle Sauvageau, ancienne entraîneure-chef de l’équipe olympique féminine canadienne, ancienne récipiendaire d’une médaille d’or en hockey féminin pour la première fois aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2002, a été la conférencière de l’activité de janvier. Par sa présentation, Danièle nous a inspirés à viser l’or en tant que meneurs de nos propres équipes.

Pour continuer

22 novembre 2017
Projetez-vous dans l’avenir!

C’est une idée intéressante que de se projeter dans l’avenir, mais comment s’y prendre? Faut-il se harnacher d’un réacteur dorsal et faire le décompte avant de décoller? Une chose est sûre, cela semble plutôt impressionnant et intimidant. Si vous êtes à la recherche de combustible pour entreprendre votre aventure avec votre réacteur dorsal imaginaire, l’activité de novembre du CMPQ, à laquelle plus de 150 personnes ont assisté, était exactement le genre de réunion axée sur l’avenir, remplie de faits et de ressources, dont vous aviez besoin pour vous vous enflammer et pour tracer votre voie vers demain.

Pour continuer

18 octobre 2017
Préparez-vous pour l’intelligence artificielle. Elle arrive et MAINTENANT!

L’intelligence artificielle : ami ou ennemi? Sommes-nous confrontés à notre fin imminente en raison de cette technologie proliférante que d’innombrables films apocalyptiques de science-fiction ont décrite ou devrions-nous accueillir à bras ouverts cet humble serviteur serviable pour qu’il effectue les tâches inférieures dont nous ne voulons plus nous préoccuper? Anthony Panetta et Brett Miles de Pfizer nous ont aidés une fois de plus à obtenir des précisions sur ces questions importantes au cours de l’activité d’octobre du CMPQ.

Pour continuer

26 septembre 2017
Changez d’attitude. Changez de vie.

La présidente du CMPQ, Shannon Quinn, a commencé le premier événement de l’année 2017-2018 en souhaitant la bienvenue à tous et en présentant le thème de cette année, « Préparer l’avenir », qui a été choisi pour présenter les enjeux à venir et les sujets qui touchent l’industrie pharmaceutique. Shannon a donné une vue d’ensemble des sujets qui seront présentés au cours des prochains mois. Elle a également informé l’auditoire que le CMPQ compte à présent une page d’entreprise dans LinkedIn et que son objectif est de communiquer du contenu pertinent et éducatif de façon à ce que tous soient bien informés. Tous les participants ont été invités à suivre le CMPQ sur LinkedIn. Shannon a conclu en remerciant les généraux commanditaires de cette activité, lesquelles proviennent de tous les niveaux différents : formation, entreprises et soutien.

Pour continuer

Cliquez ici pour accéder aux archives

Conférences à venir

18 septembre 2019

Ensemble, optimisons les résultats plus rapidement

Dîner d'affaires
Cocktail : 17 h 30
Souper : 18 h 00
Présentation : 18 h 30

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire