PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Members Lounge

Past Meetings

February 21, 2017

SHIFT IN THE PRIVATE PAYERS LANDSCAPE

This evening’s moderator was Arvind Mani, Managing Director at MORSE Consulting Inc. The expert panel included Johnny Ma, co-founder of Mapol Inc. who spoke about the importance of private payers in Canada and how this sector is evolving and Jean-Michel Lavoie AVP, Product Development, Group Benefit at Sun Life Financial who gave his point of view from the insurer’s perspective. Approximately 150 people were in attendance

Arvind was the first speaker of the evening to address this very interesting and complex topic...

Canada’s private payer system covers over half of the country’s population on Rx drug expenditures

Total spend = $29, 4 Billion

  • Public payers : $12,5
  • Private payers: $10,4
  • Out of pocket: $6,5

Arvind presented a broad overview of the various pathways and objectives of each stakeholder in terms of Public Reimbursement:

What are they looking for?

  1. Health Canada: Efficacy and safety of the drug
  2. PMPRB: Determines if drug price is excessive by comparing it to other countries. Over the last few years, PMPRB has become less relevant due to the increasing importance of the pCPA
  3. HTA bodies : Comparative effects between the evaluated drug and others currently on market
    • INESSS( Oncology and non-oncology drugs- Québec )
    • CADTH/PCODR( Oncology drugs- Rest of Canada)
    • CADTH /CDR: ( non –Oncology drugs- Rest of Canada)
  4. pCPA: What is the value of this drug
    • Determines the confidential price which can be different from the original list price
  5. Public payers: Can we afford it

Johnny Ma, explained some of the current changes seen in the private payer landscape. The 3 big insurance companies, Manulife, Great-West Life and Sun Life account for 55% of the market, 25% are regional insurers and the remainder are Blue Cross insurers available in each province. The 80/20 rule in terms of open/managed plans has been used quite often over the past few years, however, more recently the percentage of managed plans is growing as a result of increasing costs.

Market access is defined by 2 main things:

  1. Coverage: What is reimbursed or covered on the drug plan
  2. Reimbursement: How much is covered and in what circumstances

4 main categories exist in private plan management:

  • Managed plan: this type of plan accounts for 25% of subscribers
    • o Tier 1/Tier 2: the difference between these two Tiers is the percentage of co-pay that will be paid by the client
  • Public Mimic Plan: 15% of drug plan subscribers are under this type of coverage which allows only what is covered on the public formulary
  • Open plan: Everything is covered on this plan, only 10% of private insurers will benefit from this coverage
  • Open plan with prior authorization: this type of plan is becoming very popular amongst employers and employees, 50% are adopting it

The new changes in the landscape include delays in drug plan decisions and listings. A number of plans are coming out with restrictions; while others are implementing a defined and fixed amount of what they will pay per employee instead of listing what is covered on their drug plan. A generational shift is also being seen as to how the value of drug benefit plans are viewed compared to their previous baby-boomers generation; millennials are requesting benefits on their actual needs and not on a basis of prevention for future needs. Preferred Provider Networks are also being adopted by the insurers with the sole purpose of reducing costs attributable to a reduction in distribution channel. Employees are also seeing step therapy policies being part of their drug plan; lower cost therapies are used first before moving to a more expensive drug.

Jean-Michel, talked about numerous specialty drugs being made available to patients and thus dramatically increasing the claims by segment. The split between specialty drugs and conventional drugs represents around 2% of the claimants, although, the percentage in dollars spent has increased from 17% in 2011 to 30% in 2016. Financial forecasting and modeling are done by looking at manufacturers’ pipelines to see what’s coming and try to collect data to establish future cost and premiums. From the employers’ perspective observing this trend they question being able to afford future benefit plans and asking their insurers to make sure that the costs are controlled. It’s becoming quite problematic to keep the rates affordable in the short and long term and making sure that the employees have access to the latest new drugs and technology. For these reasons, private insurers are starting to look at public formularies

Panel Discussion

Developing the right drug plan is becoming a balancing act since employers require cost containment but at the same time want to keep their employees happy with their drug plan. How are employees reacting with this changing environment?

Jean-Michel Lavoie & Johnny Ma: Many employees were used to the opened plan which reimbursed up to 80% of all drugs, nowadays , they are confronted with higher premiums and because of this, many will be more receptive to having pre-authorization or stricter reimbursement to decrease the cost of premiums. Another key element of making employees accept their drug plan changes is to make sure that employers effectively communicate the rationale of all changes to the drug plan.

What would be the private insurers preferred ways to contain cost; co-pays Tier 1 &2, pre-authorization, mandatory substitution etc.?

Johnny Ma: Everyone understands that pre-authorization is a good thing. The step therapy is something that will become more prevalent within the next 5 years.

Jean-Michel Lavoie: Insurance companies are now suggesting their clients run an expense model which will show where employers are getting the most of their money, subsequently, decisions will be made as to what kind of changes have to be made in order to implement a sustainable drug plan.


 

Jo-Ann Charland
Training Consultant and Medical Writer
Email: JoAnn.Charland1@gmail.com
Cell: 438-998-0498
Pharma411

Upcoming meeting

April 25, 2018

Empowerment for Life: Partnering with patient organizations for better healthcare outcomes

Dinner Meeting
Cocktails: 5:30 p.m.
Dinner: 6:30 p.m.
Panel Discussion: 7:00 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Members Lounge

Conférences précédentes

Le 21 février 2017

CHANGEMENT DE CAP CHEZ LES ASSUREURS PRIVÉS

Le modérateur de la soirée était Arvind Mani, directeur général, MOORSE Consulting Inc. et les membres du groupe de discussion étaient Johnny Ma, fondateur de Mapol Inc. qui a parlé de l’importance des assureurs privés au Canada et de l’évolution de ce secteur ainsi que Jean-Michel Lavoie AVP, développement de produits, Avantages sociaux collectifs à Sun life, qui a donné son opinion du point de vue des assureurs. Près de 150 personnes ont assisté à cette rencontre.

Arvind était le premier conférencier de la soirée au sujet très intéressant et complexe.

Au Canada, le secteur privé rembourse plus de la moitié des dépenses de médicaments d’ordonnance de la population.

Total dépensé = 29,4 milliards $

  • Secteur public : 12,5 milliards $
  • Secteur privé : 10,4 milliards $
  • Patients : 6,5 milliards $

Arvind a présenté une vue d’ensemble des divers parcours et objectifs de chaque partie prenante sur le plan du remboursement public :

Que recherchent-ils?

  1. Santé Canada : l’efficacité et l’innocuité du médicament
  2. CEPMB : il détermine si le prix du médicament est excessif en le comparant aux autres pays. Le CEPMB est devenu moins pertinent au cours des dernières années en raison de l’importance grandissante de l’Alliance pancanadienne pharmaceutique (APP).
  3. Organismes d’évaluation des technologies de la santé (ETS) : Comparaison des effets respectifs du médicament évalué et des autres médicaments actuellement sur le marché.
    • INESSS (médicaments anticancéreux et autres que pour le cancer– Québec)
    • Programme pancanadien d’évaluation des anticancéreux (PPEA) de l’ACMTS : (médicaments anticancéreux – Reste du Canada)
    • Programme commun d’évaluation des médicaments (PCEM) de l’ACMTS : (médicaments autres que pour le cancer- Reste du Canada)
  4. APP : Quelle est la valeur de ce médicament
    • Elle détermine le prix confidentiel qui peut être différent du prix de liste d’origine
  5. Secteur public : Pouvons-nous nous le permettre

Johnny Ma a expliqué certaines modifications qui sont observées actuellement dans le secteur privé. Les trois grandes compagnies d’assurances, Manuvie, la Great-West et la Sun Life, représentent 55 % du marché, les assureurs régionaux comptent pour 25 % et le reste est couvert par la Croix Bleue du Canada dans chaque province. Au cours des dernières années, on s’est beaucoup servi de la règle du 80/20 pour décrire les régimes d’assurances ouverts/de gestion intégrée; par contre, depuis quelques années, le pourcentage des régimes de gestion intégrée augmente à la suite de l’augmentation des coûts.

L’accès au marché est défini par deux éléments principaux :

  1. La couverture d’assurance : ce qui est remboursé ou couvert par le régime d’assurance médicaments
  2. Le remboursement : quel est le pourcentage de remboursement et dans quelles circonstances

Il existe 4 catégories principales dans la gestion des régimes privés d’assurances :

  • Régime de gestion intégrée : ce type de régime représente 25 % des adhérents
    • Niveau 1/Niveau 2 : ce qui différencie ces deux niveaux est le pourcentage de quote-part que le client devra payer
  • Régime qui imite le régime public : 15% des détenteurs d’une assurance médicaments ont un type de couverture qui ne couvre que les médicaments remboursés par la Liste des médicaments de leur province
  • Régime ouvert : Tout est remboursé par ce régime d’assurance; 10 % seulement des détenteurs d’assurances privées bénéficient de cette couverture
  • Régime ouvert avec autorisation préalable : ce type de régime devient très populaire auprès des employeurs et des employés; il est adopté par 50 % d’entre eux.

Les nouvelles modifications du paysage comprennent des retards au niveau des décisions d’inscription des médicaments aux régimes d’assurance médicaments. Plusieurs régimes mettent de l’avant des restrictions; d’autres mettent en place un montant défini et fixe de ce qu’ils vont payer par employé au lieu d’indiquer ce qui est remboursé par leur régime d’assurance médicaments. On observe également un virage générationnel en ce qui a trait à la valeur accordée aux régimes d’assurance médicaments comparativement à la génération précédente des baby-boomers; les milléniaux demandent des avantages sociaux pour leurs besoins actuels et non en prévention de besoins futurs. Les compagnies d’assurance adoptent également les réseaux de fournisseurs privilégiés dans le seul but de réduire les coûts attribuables à une diminution des canaux de distribution. Les employés observent également que des politiques de traitements par paliers font partie de leur régime d’assurance médicaments; on a recours aux traitements les moins chers en premier lieu avant de passer à un médicament plus cher.

Jean-Michel a parlé des nombreux médicaments de spécialité qui sont mis à la disposition des patients et qui augmentent donc considérablement les réclamations par segment. Le clivage entre les médicaments de spécialité et les médicaments classiques représente près de 2 % des réclamants, bien que le pourcentage en dollars dépensés ait augmenté de 17 % en 2011 à 30 % en 2016. Les prévisions et les modélisations financières sont effectuées en examinant le filon de produits des fabricants pour voir ce qui s’en vient et en essayant de colliger des données pour établir les coûts et les primes futurs. Du point de vue des employeurs qui observent cette tendance et qui se demandent s’ils auront les moyens de se permettre des régimes d’avantages sociaux futurs, ils demandent à leurs compagnies d’assurance de faire en sorte que les coûts soient contrôlés. Cela pose tout un problème que de maintenir des taux abordables à court et à long terme tout en s’assurant que les employés ont accès aux nouveaux médicaments et technologies les plus récents. C’est pour cette raison que les assureurs privés commencent à examiner les listes de médicaments remboursés du secteur public.

Discussion de groupe

L’élaboration du bon régime d’assurance médicaments devient un exercice d’équilibriste étant donné que les employeurs demandent un contrôle des coûts tout en voulant en même temps que leurs employés soient satisfaits de leur régime d’assurance médicaments. Comment les employés réagissent-ils à cet environnement en évolution?

Jean-Michel Lavoie et Johnny Ma : De nombreux employés étaient habitués au régime ouvert qui remboursait jusqu’à concurrence de 80 % de tous les médicaments. Ils sont actuellement confrontés à des primes plus élevées et c’est pour cela qu’un bon nombre d’entre eux seront plus réceptifs à accepter des préautorisations ou des critères de remboursement plus stricts pour réduire le coût des primes. Il faut s’assurer que les employeurs communiquent efficacement la raison d’être de toutes les modifications au régime d’assurance médicaments, ce qui est un autre élément essential qui amènera les employés à accepter ces modifications à leur régime d’assurance médicaments.

Quelle serait la méthode préférée par les assureurs privés pour contrôler les coûts; quotes-parts de niveau 1/niveau 2; préautorisations, substitutions obligatoires, etc.?

Johnny Ma : Tout le monde comprend que les préautorisations sont fondées. Le traitement par paliers deviendra plus prévalent au cours des 5 prochaines années.

Jean-Michel Lavoie : À présent, les compagnies d’assurance suggèrent à leurs clients d’utiliser un modèle d’évaluation des dépenses qui révèle la source de la plus grande partie des fonds des employeurs. Des décisions seront prises par la suite quant au type de modifications qui devront être apportées pour mettre en place un régime d’assurance médicaments viable.


 

Jo-Ann Charland
Training Consultant and Medical Writer
Email: JoAnn.Charland1@gmail.com
Cell: 438-998-0498
Pharma411

Upcoming meeting

Have a great summer and see you in September.