PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Members Lounge

Past Meetings

January 28, 2014

Standing Out in a Sea of Generics: Succeeding in the Loss of Exclusivity Environment

This first meeting of 2014 was moderated by John Oster from Lundbeck Canada and he welcomed three speakers this evening: Ian Johnson, Principal of Commercial Effectiveness Services with IMS, Jefferey Sleep, Manager of Cornerstone with AstraZeneca in Toronto and Rania Cassar-Awe, Director of Retail Strategy at Pfizer. Each of the speakers were given the floor to discuss their experiences in the loss of exclusivity environment.

Ian Johnson was the first to speak and he reminisced about the “old days” of pharma, when huge amounts of money were poured into a brand during its launch phase and the early years of its lifecycle, but once it lost exclusivity, companies would walk away from the brand. He pointed out that companies can’t do that anymore. Now they’re being asked to hang on to brands and look at them from a lifecycle point of view and not from a launch to LOE point of view. He mentioned that AstraZeneca has lost a lot of revenue from LOE, so now they’re “riding the LOE train” and maximizing the revenue from it. He recommended that companies like Roche and Lundbeck should look at what other companies have and have not done successfully within the LOE space and leverage those learnings.

He said that companies are now investing in strategies to maintain patient loyalty, whether it be through financial incentives, emotional drivers through social media, web pages, patient support programs and patient choice programs. He also mentioned that many companies are transitioning from using smart cards to patient choice programs, which are beneficial for the company, the pharmacist and the patient. He concluded by saying that he felt that marketing will become more powerful than ever before, because it has so many tools at hand that weren’t available before, such as being able to talk about price, the creation of patient programs, social media, and store targeting.

The next speaker of the evening was Jefferey Sleep and he shared the lessons that he and his company have learned within the LOE space. He provided an analogy with Blockbuster Video stores and said that the brand name pharma industry is undergoing the same seismic shift due to “patent cliffs”. He felt that the industry has two options: adapt and evolve or accept their fate.

He said that there were a few things that companies needed to do in this new and changing environment, such as keeping an eye on changing drug legislation, because it can have profound impact in the LOE world. He also proposed the concept of the “zero moment of truth”, or ZMOT, which is the point of being exposed to something and the decision to buy it or consume it. For pharmaceuticals, he said that this was the time between a patient getting a prescription and actually filling it. He felt that companies need to do what they can in this space to get patients to fill their prescriptions.

He also felt that there are untapped opportunities being created with employers, payers, front office staff, medical office assistance and pharmacy technicians. In addition, he mentioned that, internally, companies have things like compassionate use and patient assistance programs and different departments where new opportunities can be found to create synergies and cost savings.

He provided some tips on his personal mindset on how to be successful within the LOE space, which included: 1) be prepared to take risks and foster a company culture where it’s OK to take risks; 2) thrive in ambiguity; 3) adopt a portfolio mindset; 4) invest in what matters, prioritize and only focus on things that are most important; 5) create pharmacy relationships; 6) do it with less, find creative ways to save costs; 7) view traditional competitors as strong allies.

He concluded his talk by saying that LOE success requires transitional thinking and he emphasized that collaboration is king and that innovation is a must.

Rania Cassar-Awe was the last speaker of the evening and provided a slightly different perspective on LOE strategies. She started working in the established business unit at Pfizer about 5 years ago, and back then people didn’t understand what that was about. She said that when the unit was started, they went through the company looking for “frustrated optimists”. They turned these people into “specialists in the impossible” and changed the view of products that were going to retirement to brands that were immortal.

She shared some lessons that she and her company have learned through this process, which were: stop thinking about brands from a lifecycle point of view and think about them from our responsibilities to patients and healthcare professionals - our job is to provide choices and expand access if we can so that patients can have access to the medicines that they need; the stakeholder that really matters is the consumer. She furthered this thought by saying that it’s important to have an intimate knowledge of the consumer and develop targeted approaches to reach them in the right way via a multichannelled approach.

After Rania’s talk, the floor was opened to the audience for questions. One question was around the patient experience and how it might be changing in the current environment. The panellists responded by saying that companies need to understand the current patient experience and develop program that engage patients to become brand loyal. They emphasized that patients today are more empowered and are demanding to be part of the decision-making process, so companies need to provide them with all the options possible so that they can make the best informed decision.

Rania provided a final sentiment that aptly summed up the evening’s discussion, by saying: “The imperative is not to play the game as well as the generics, it’s to change the game and to remember what we’re great at and emphasize that and really work that… We need to do what we do best: produce excellent medicines for Canadians to consume and have them readily available to them - that’s how we win.”

Lara Holmes
Medical Writer
Email: lholmes@videotron.ca
Cell: 514-425-4977
Pharma411

Upcoming meeting

February 27, 2018

PMPRB Changes; Industry Outlook and Impact – What you should know

Welcome & breakfast: 7:00 a.m.
Conference: 7:30 sharp - 9:00 a.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Salon des membres

Réunions précédentes

Le 28 janvier 2014

Se démarquer dans un monde de génériques : réussir dans l’environnement de la perte d’exclusivité

John Oster de Lundbeck Canada était l’animateur de cette première réunion de 2014. Il a souhaité la bienvenue aux trois conférenciers de la soirée : Ian Johnson, directeur, Services d’optimisation de l’efficacité commerciale, IMS; Jefferey Sleep, chef, Produits fondamentaux, AstraZeneca, Toronto et Rania Cassar-Awe, directrice, Stratégie de vente au détail, Pfizer. Chacun des conférenciers a parlé de son expérience dans l’environnement de la perte d’exclusivité.

Ian Johnson fut le premier à prendre la parole. Il a raconté ses souvenirs du « bon vieux temps » de l’industrie pharmaceutique, quand d’énormes montants étaient investis dans un produit pendant la phase de lancement et les premières années du cycle de vie, puis les entreprises se désintéressaient du produit après que celui-ci eut perdu son exclusivité. Il a fait remarquer que les entreprises ne peuvent plus agir ainsi. On leur demande maintenant de s’accrocher aux produits et de s’y intéresser dans une perspective de cycle de vie et non celle du lancement jusqu’à la perte d’exclusivité. Il a mentionné qu’AstraZeneca a perdu beaucoup de revenus en raison de la perte d’exclusivité et que l’entreprise fait face à la musique de la perte d’exclusivité et optimise ses revenus. Il a recommandé que des entreprises comme Roche et Lundbeck examinent ce que d’autres entreprises ont réussi ou raté en matière de perte d’exclusivité et tirent profit de ces apprentissages.

Il a précisé que les entreprises investissent à présent dans des stratégies qui visent à maintenir la loyauté des patients, que ce soit par des motivations financières, des incitatifs émotifs par le truchement des médias sociaux, des pages Web, des programmes de soutien des patients et des programmes de choix des patients. Il a également mentionné que de nombreuses entreprises ont entrepris de passer de l’utilisation des cartes à puce aux programmes de choix des patients, lesquels sont bénéfiques pour l’entreprise, pour les pharmaciens et pour les patients. En conclusion, il a expliqué que, d’après lui, le marketing deviendra plus puissant que jamais, parce qu’il dispose d’un grand nombre d’instruments qui n’existaient pas auparavant, par exemple la capacité de discuter des prix, la création de programmes pour les patients, les médias sociaux et le ciblage dans les pharmacies.

Jefferey Sleep était le conférencier suivant. Il a fait part des leçons que son entreprise et lui ont tirées dans le contexte de la perte d’exclusivité. Il a fait une analogie avec les magasins Blockbuster Video en expliquant que l’industrie pharmaceutique de marque vit le même virage d’amplitude sismique en raison des « gouffres en matière de brevets ». Selon lui, l’industrie a deux choix : s’adapter et évoluer ou accepter son sort.

Il a expliqué qu’il est nécessaire que les entreprises fassent plusieurs choses dans ce nouvel environnement en évolution, par exemple surveiller l’évolution des dispositions législatives portant sur les médicaments, compte tenu des répercussions profondes qu’elles peuvent avoir dans le monde des pertes d’exclusivité. Il a également proposé le concept du « moment de vérité zéro » (“zero moment of truth”, ou ZMOT), c’est-à-dire le moment entre l’exposition du consommateur à un produit et sa décision de l’acheter ou de le consommer. Dans le cas des produits pharmaceutiques, il a dit que c’est la période entre le moment où le patient obtient une ordonnance et le moment où il la fait exécuter réellement. Il pense que les entreprises doivent faire ce qu’elles peuvent pendant cette période pour amener les patients à faire exécuter leurs ordonnances.

Il croit également que des possibilités non exploitées sont créées avec les employeurs, les tiers payeurs, le personnel d’accueil des médecins, les assistantes médicales et les techniciens de pharmacie. De plus, il a mentionné qu’à l’interne, les entreprises ont des programmes d’accès aux médicaments à titre humanitaire et des programmes d’aide aux patients ainsi que différents services dans lesquels il est possible de trouver de nouvelles possibilités de créer des synergies et des économies.

Il a donné quelques conseils fondés sur son état d’esprit personnel quant aux manières de réussir dans le monde des pertes d’exclusivité, notamment : 1) être prêts à prendre des risques et à encourager une culture d’entreprise dans laquelle il est bien vu de prendre des risques; 2) prospérer dans l’ambiguïté; 3) adopter une mentalité de gestionnaire de portefeuille; 4) investir dans ce qui compte, établir des priorités et se concentrer uniquement sur le plus important; 5) créer des relations avec les pharmaciens; 6) le faire en dépensant moins, trouver des moyens créatifs d’économiser; 7) considérer les concurrents historiques comme de solides alliés.

Il a conclu son exposé en expliquant que, pour réussir dans un contexte de perte d’exclusivité, il faut réfléchir à la transition, et il a mis l’accent sur le fait que la collaboration est reine et que l’innovation est impérative.

La dernière conférencière de la soirée a été Rania Cassar-Awe. Elle a présenté un point de vue légèrement différent sur les stratégies relatives aux pertes d’exclusivité. Cela fait environ 5 ans qu’elle a commencé à travailler pour Pfizer, au sein de l’unité commerciale établie, et à cette époque les gens ne comprenaient pas de quoi il s’agissait. Elle a dit qu’au moment du démarrage de l’unité, ils ont cherché des « optimistes frustrés » dans l’entreprise. Ils ont transformé ces personnes en « spécialistes de l’impossible » et on a modifié la perception de produits qui allaient être mis à la retraite en des produits immortels.

Elle a fait part de quelques leçons que son entreprise et elle ont tirées de ce processus, soit arrêter de penser aux produits dans une perspective de cycle de vie mais y penser en fonction de nos responsabilités à l’égard des patients et des professionnels de la santé – notre travail consiste à offrir des choix et à l’élargir l’accès si nous le pouvons, de sorte que les patients aient accès aux médicaments dont ils ont besoin; le consommateur est la partie prenante qui compte vraiment. Elle a renchéri en disant qu’il est important de connaître intimement le consommateur et d’élaborer des approches ciblées pour les joindre de la bonne façon par le truchement d’une approche multivoie.

Après l’exposé de Rania, les participants ont pu poser des questions. Une question portait sur l’expérience des patients et comment la modifier dans le contexte actuel. Les conférenciers ont répondu que les entreprises doivent comprendre l’expérience actuelle des patients et élaborer des programmes qui incitent les patients à devenir loyaux à leurs marques. Ils ont insisté sur le fait que, de nos jours, les patients sont plus habilités et exigent de faire partie du processus décisionnel, de sorte que les entreprises doivent leur offrir toutes les options possibles pour qu’ils puissent prendre la décision la mieux éclairée.

La dernière intervention de Rania résumait tout à fait la discussion de la soirée. Elle a dit : « Ce qui s’impose n’est pas de jouer le jeu aussi bien que les entreprises de produits génériques, mais de modifier le jeu et de se souvenir que nous y excellons, de le souligner et d’y travailler réellement… Nous devons faire ce que nous faisons le mieux : d’excellents médicaments pour qu’ils soient consommés par les Canadiens et qu’ils leurs soient facilement accessibles – c’est ainsi que nous sommes gagnants au bout du compte. »

Lara Holmes
Medical Writer
Courriel: lholmes@videotron.ca
Cell: 514-425-4977
Pharma411

Conférences à venir

27 février 2018

Perspective sur les changements du CEPMB; Impact sur notre industrie – Ce que vous devez savoir

Accueil et déjeuner : 7 h 0
Conférence : 7 h 30 pile - 9 h 00

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire