PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Members Lounge

Past Meetings

November 19, 2013

Pan-Canadian Drug Pricing Alliance: How will it unfold?

How ready will you be when PCPA becomes a reality for your brand?

In an evolving regulatory environment, brand pricing and access strategies are continuously being challenged and re-examined to adjust to new government initiatives. This evening’s event was tailored as a group discussion between industry and government stakeholders around the Pan-Canadian Drug Pricing Alliance (PCPA) and to hear new insights from independent research.

This evening’s event was designed as a panel discussion and the panellists included: Walter Robinson, the Vice-President of Government Affairs at Rx&D; Judy McPhee, the Executive Director of Pharmaceutical Services for the Department of Health and Wellness at the Government of Nova Scotia; Ghislain Boudreau, the Vice-President of Public Affairs at Pfizer Canada; and Adrienne Blanchard, a partner at Norton Rose Fulbright.

The moderator for the evening was Bill Dempster, a co-founder of 3Sixty Public Affairs Inc. He began the evening by explaining the origins of PCPA. He mentioned that the ultimate goal of the PCPA is to obtain lower prices for medications for Canadians, because they pay more for drugs than other people worldwide.

Judy McPhee was the first panellist to address the audience. She explained that PCPA is currently led by Ontario and Nova Scotia, but that all provinces participate, except for Quebec. She mentioned that the overall objective of PCPA is to increase the sustainability of drug plans by providing more affordable access to drugs that provide value to the healthcare system. She mentioned that Canadians and governments want consistent access to medications across the country and that pricing needs to be addressed to obtain that consistency. She explained that the pharma industry had been approaching them for product listing agreements (PLAs), but their largest challenge has been the lack of a formal process or governance structure in order to fulfill their mandates. She explained that the PCPA goals are to increase access to drug treatment options, improve consistency across drug listings across the country and reduce the duplication of negotiations and utilization of resources.

The second panellist to speak was Ghislain Boudreau. He felt that the common theme in negotiating with PCPA was that there was too much focus on the short-term cost containment approach and not enough on non-pricing options, such as coverage with evidence, investment opportunities, education programs, and value-added solutions, etc. He felt that the goal was broader than the price-volume concept and that that was an element that needed to be “put back on the table.”

Another panellist, Adrienne Blanchard, pointed out that the PCPA has no legal status, which has implications. It is difficult for parties involved with PCPA to know what the expectations are. She mentioned that there are administrative issues, price issues and business considerations.

After talks from the panellists, the floor was given over to questions from the audience.

The first question related to the process and governance of PCPA. Judy responded to this question candidly, saying that the current process is not perfect, but that PCPA has the desire to make it more formal and structured with more transparency. She did emphasize that she felt that there was no duplicity in their processes with respect to CDR or P-CODER.

The second question from the audience was with respect to leveraging R&D capacity in Canada, instead of focusing on cost containment. Walter Robinson responded to this by saying that there needs to be a “clean and continuous line” from safety to HTA to pricing discussion/negotiation to reimbursement for products. He felt this would allow the process to be as vast as it can be and as safe as it has to be, so that Canadian patients could get access to medications faster and the PCPA could reduce the built-in costs for industry and be fair to governments. Ghislain Boudreau added that looking at medications within the “short-term mould” needed to be reassessed, and that health technology management across the life cycle of products should be reviewed, because this would demonstrate the long-term value of medications.

Another question was raised regarding the issue of the Pan-Canadian pricing process driving prices so low that it may be discouraging companies from bring out new products (including generics). The question to the panel was, “How do you ensure that you don’t get to the point where you don’t drive out competition?” Judy McPhee responded that the PCPA was cognizant of this issue, but she responded that the PCPA currently sees companies coming in with higher prices knowing that they’re going to be negotiated down through the process. She mentioned that brand companies are approaching PCPA daily to cut deals to decrease their price to drive the cost of generics down, particularly when brand medications are reaching end of patent. Judy mentioned that the PCPA process is not designed to drive down the cost of brand medications. She responded to the comment from an audience member that, if a company were to come in with a transparent price at the start of negotiations, they wouldn’t get “knocked down even further”. Judy mentioned that she was aware that this is a perception of PCPA, but she asserted that it wasn’t true.

The question as to where Quebec stands in all of these negotiations was raised and Judy responded that Quebec has not been involved at all in the pricing process. However, she did say that the PCPA would welcome Quebec in all of the PCPA processes. Ghislain added that there is an openness to embark on a PLA with the Quebec government, but he felt that it will take time and that there was a need to put some pressure on them to make this happen.

The last question of the evening was with respect to private payers and whether there is an interest in having them as part of the PCPA process. Judy gave an honest response, saying that, at this time, she didn’t know. Walter responded that there were a number of legal issues surrounding this, and as such, it was a difficult subject to address.

All in all, this evening’s event was a resounding success, as it generated some stimulating and thought-provoking discussion!

Click here to see the article on Pan-Canadian Pricing Alliance in the November issue of the Inside Policy magazine.

Lara Holmes
Medical Writer
Email: lholmes@videotron.ca
Cell: 514-425-4977
Pharma411

Upcoming meeting

May 15, 2018

Running on Empty: Manage Your Energy, Manage Your Stress

Dinner Meeting
Cocktails: 5:30 p.m.
Dinner: 6:30 p.m.
Panel Discussion: 7:00 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Salon des membres

Réunions précédentes

Le 19 novembre 2013

L’alliance pancanadienne pour la tarification des médicaments (PCPA): Quelle est la suite des choses?
Serez-vous prêt lorsque la PCPA deviendra une réalité pour votre marque?

Dans un environnement réglementaire en constante évolution, les stratégies de tarification et d’accès au marché sont constamment mises à l’épreuve et réexaminées pour s’ajuster aux nouvelles initiatives gouvernementales. L’activité de cette soirée a pris la forme d’un groupe de discussion entre des intervenants de l’industrie et du gouvernement autour de l’alliance pancanadienne pour la tarification des médicaments (PCPA) et pour entendre de nouveaux points de vue provenant de recherches indépendantes.

Le groupe de discussion se composait de : Walter Robinson, vice-président, Affaires gouvernementales, Rx&D; Judy McPhee, Directrice exécutive des services pharmaceutiques, Ministère de la santé et du bien-être au Gouvernement de la Nouvelle Écosse; Ghislain Boudreau, vice-président, Affaires publiques, Pfizer Canada; et Adrienne Blanchard, associée chez Norton Rose Fulbright.

L’animateur de la soirée était Bill Dempster, Co-fondateur, 3Sixty Public Affairs Inc. Il a débuté la soirée en expliquant l’origine de la PCPA. Il a mentionné que le but ultime de la PCPA est d’obtenir des prix moins élevés pour les médicaments des Canadiens, parce qu’ils paient davantage pour leurs médicaments que les autres peuples à l’échelle mondiale.

Judy McPhee a été la première panéliste à prendre la parole. Elle a expliqué que la PCPA est actuellement dirigée par l’Ontario et la Nouvelle-Écosse, mais que toutes les provinces y participent, à l’exception du Québec. Elle a mentionné que l’objectif global de la PCPA consiste à augmenter la durabilité des programmes de médicaments en offrant un accès plus abordable aux médicaments qui apportent une valeur au système de soins de santé. Elle a précisé que les Canadiens et les gouvernements veulent un accès uniforme aux médicaments à l’échelle du pays et qu’il faut régler la question des prix pour obtenir cette uniformité. Elle a expliqué que l’industrie pharmaceutique les avait approchés au sujet d’ententes sur les inclusions de produits (PLA), mais que leur plus grand défi a été l’absence d’un processus ou d’une structure de gouvernance officiels en vue de remplir leurs mandats. Elle a expliqué que les objectifs de la PCPA sont d’augmenter l’accès à des choix de traitements médicamenteux, d’améliorer la cohérence des inclusions de médicaments à l’échelle du pays et de réduire le chevauchement des négociations et l’utilisation des ressources.

Ghislain Boudreau était le deuxième panéliste. Il était d’avis que, dans les négociations avec l’APTM, le thème commun était qu’on se concentrait trop sur l’approche de la limitation des coûts à court terme et pas assez sur les options sans lien avec les prix, par exemple la couverture avec des données probantes, les possibilités d’investissements, les programmes d’éducation et les solutions à valeur ajoutée, etc. Il pensait que l’objectif était plus large que le concept volume-prix et que c’était un élément qu’il fallait « remettre sur la table ».

Une autre panéliste, Adrienne Blanchard, a fait remarquer que la PCPA n’a pas de statut juridique, ce qui a des répercussions. Il est difficile pour les parties qui travaillent au sein de la PCPA de savoir quelles sont les attentes. Elle a mentionné qu’il y a des enjeux administratifs, des enjeux de prix et des points commerciaux à prendre en compte.

Après les exposés des panélistes, les membres de l’auditoire ont pu poser des questions.

La première question portait sur le processus et la gouvernance de la PCPA. Judy a répondu franchement à cette question, en disant que le processus actuel n’est pas parfait, mais que la PCPA a le désir de le rendre plus officiel et structuré avec plus de transparence. Elle a insisté sur le fait qu’elle est convaincue qu’il n’y avait aucune duplication dans leurs processus en ce qui a trait au Programme commun d’évaluation des médicaments (PCEM) ou au Pan-Canadian Oncology Drug Review (P-CODER).

La deuxième question de l’auditoire portait sur l’optimisation de la capacité en R-D au Canada, plutôt que de se concentrer sur la limitation des coûts. Walter Robinson y a répondu en disant qu’il faut qu’il y ait un “trait net et continu” de l’innocuité à l’évaluation des technologies de la santé aux discussions sur les prix/négociations pour le remboursement des produits. Il pense que cela permettrait au processus d’être le plus vaste possible et le plus sécuritaire possible, de sorte que les patients canadiens puissent avoir un accès plus rapide aux médicaments et que la PCPA puisse réduire les coûts intégrés pour l’industrie tout en étant équitable pour les gouvernements. Ghislain Boudreau a ajouté qu’il faut réévaluer l’étude des médicaments à l’intérieur du « moule à court terme », et qu’il faut réévaluer la gestion de la technologie de la santé à l’échelle du cycle de vie des produits, parce que cela démontrerait la valeur à long terme des médicaments.

Une autre question qui a été soulevée portait sur ce qui se produirait si le processus de tarification pancanadien faisait baisser les prix à un point tel que cela pourrait décourager les sociétés pharmaceutiques de lancer des nouveaux produits (y compris des génériques). La question au panel était la suivante : « Comment vous assurez-vous que vous n’en arrivez pas au point où vous ne chassez plus la concurrence? » Judy McPhee a répondu que la PCPA était au courant de ce problème, mais elle a précisé que la PCPA voit actuellement venir les entreprises avec des prix plus élevés puisqu’elles savent qu’ils vont être négociés à la baisse pendant le processus. Elle a mentionné que les entreprises pharmaceutiques de marque approchent chaque jour la PCPA pour négocier des ententes visant à réduire leurs prix afin de faire baisser les coûts des génériques, plus particulièrement quand les médicaments de marque atteignent la fin de leur brevet. Judy a mentionné que le processus de la PCPA n’est pas conçu pour faire baisser le coût des médicaments de marque. Elle a répondu au commentaire d’un membre de l’auditoire selon lequel si une entreprise arrivait avec un prix transparent au début des négociations, ils ne se feraient pas baisser encore plus leurs prix. Judy a mentionné qu’elle était au courant de cette perception de la PCPA, mais elle a affirmé que cela n’était pas vrai.

Une question a été soulevée sur la position du Québec dans toutes ces négociations et Judy a répondu que le Québec n’a pas participé du tout au processus de tarification. Elle a cependant précisé que la PCPA accueillerait le Québec dans tous les processus de la PCPA. Ghislain a ajouté qu’il y a une ouverture à embarquer dans une entente sur les inclusions de produits (PLA) avec le gouvernement du Québec, mais il sent qu’il faudra du temps et qu’il est nécessaire d’exercer une certaine pression sur eux pour que cela arrive.

La dernière question de la soirée portait sur les payeurs privés et sur l’intérêt éventuel de leur participation au processus de la PCPA. Judy a donné une réponse honnête, et dit qu’elle ne le savait pas à l’heure actuelle. Walter a répondu que plusieurs enjeux juridiques entourent cette question et que cela en faisait un sujet difficile à aborder.

L’activité de cette soirée fut, somme toute, un succès retentissant, puisqu’elle a provoqué des discussions stimulantes et qui suscitent la réflexion!

Cliquez ici pour lire l’article Pan-Canadian Pricing Alliance dans le numéro de novembre du magazine Inside Policy.

Lara Holmes
Medical Writer
Courriel: lholmes@videotron.ca
Cell: 514-425-4977
Pharma411

Conférences à venir

15 mai 2018

Au bout du rouleau : Gérez votre énergie, gérez votre stress

Dîner d'affaires
Cocktail : 17 h 30
Souper : 18 h 30
Présentation : 19 h 00

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire