PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Events

Past Meetings

September 25, 2018

A reflection on digital pharma practices

For several years, pharmaceutical companies have been leveraging digital practices across many functional areas. It’s time we take stock of what we’ve learned and where we are going next. In the kick-off meeting for the 2018–2019 season, we invited a panel of local Canadian pharma experts to discuss the current status and recent evolution of digital business practices in pharma, as well as how digital strategies can apply specifically to Medical, Sales, and Marketing.

Opening Remarks and Housekeeping -   Shannon Quinn, PMCQ President

  • A big thank you to our sponsors and supporting partners who help to make these meetings possible.
  • The year’s theme: To Focus the Way Forward. Check out the great topics we will cover!
  • Membership perks: Did you know that all PMCQ members had access to a 20% discount for the Global Digital Pharma Summit? Don’t miss out on future opportunities — check your emails!
  • Good to know: The annual PAAB Workshop is coming up in November.
  • The next PMCQ event: An expert will tell us how to hire the right candidate and tips on how to effectively promote ourselves. Don’t miss it!
  • Thank you to Anderson DDB for doing the creative for this event and Pfizer for their sponsorship of the event.

Introduction of Speakers -   Brett Miles, PMCQ VP Education

The meeting featured a panel of pharma experts, including:

Digital Engagement in Pharma -   Martin Husar

Martin discussed marketing strategy and higher-level concepts and practices with regard to customer engagement.

  • A typical evolution of digital practices in pharma:
    • Allowed reps to text HCPs → Built branded websites → Started using platforms to send second-party emails → Equipped the sales force with iPads; remote detailing → Sent marketer emails directly from the brand upon receiving consent from customer → Built digital self-serve platforms (such as portals, apps) → Integrated multi-channel experiences
  • Chat bots and voice apps are the next big thing.
    • It is hard to provide 1-on-1 service at all times, so we can use digital technology to fill gaps; e.g., chat bots on Facebook Messenger could provide preliminary information and guidance for customers.
    • Voice apps (such as Alexa and Google Home) are forecasted to be the highest growing areas.
  • Digital innovation requires two considerations: 1) design thinking; 2) agile practices.
    • Design thinking has 5 steps:
      • Empathize with the issue and gather insights
      • Define the problem
      • Initiate ideation phase and plan a solution
      • Test prototype
      • Assess outcome and adjust as needed
    • Agile practices: This goes against our normal practice because we face regulatory challenges in creating prototypes and testing them so that we can launch quickly.
  • Ultimately, the value of engaging digitally is in the opportunity to provide a better service and experience in order to improve relationships with our customers. Digital engagements generate a lot of data. If we take these insights to help us understand engagements better, then that will ultimately lead to better business performance.

Digital Practices in Sales -   Tamer Hanna

Tamer discussed how AbbVie’s IT team used design thinking and agile practices to provide technical solutions to support digital marketing brand strategies.

  • Started by building a multidisciplinary team called e-AbbVie that bridges technology, communications, commercial, medical and patient engagement teams.
  • They discovered through social media an unmet need amongst undiagnosed patients with hidradenitis suppurativa. AbbVie developed an online solution to give patients the information that they need to receive a diagnosis.
  • AbbVie also collaborated with HCPs who are treating this condition to build a library of content that the doctor is able to share with the patient when he/she leaves the office.
  • AbbVie’s latest innovation is a chat bot that has built-in pre-approved content. They are piloting this chat bot with a small patient population to see if patients are willing to use this type of technology as a substitute for a call to a HCP.
  • The future is all about data. AI will be able to look at the massive sets of data and find the opportunities for us — this can even be applied to product development during clinical trials.

Digital Practices in Medical -   Elodie Martin

Elodie discussed how Medical teams can use digital tools in order to handle resource constraints:

  • Medical is dealing with limited resources; smaller teams are catering to larger customer bases and managing growing portfolios of products. Customer needs are also changing: medical used to provide clinical data, but now customers have better information access, so customers need help to sort through all of the information for their needs.
  • Common Medical initiatives:
    • E-congresses and e-conferences — streamed live, so no travel required and customers only pay for sessions of interest
    • Virtual meetings — connecting HCPs with experts around the world
    • Virtual ad boards — can have e-synchronous meetings where, instead of everyone being available at the same time, you can have them go through the materials and comment on their peers’ answers. This provides some of the same kind of insights as a face-to-face consult, but reaches out to HCPs who live remotely, so allows for a broader base of advisors.
    • Virtual calls with customers — can share your screen and show your face. Not the same as an in-person call, but it is better than a phone conversation or email.
  • A specific example from Sanofi is an app for a product with tricky route of administration. The app houses all of the dosing and administration tools so that a customer can get a refresher long after he/she received the training. This ensures the patient is always treated correctly.
  • A Med Info team in Europe is using WhatsApp to provide Medical updates (e.g. product label updates) to customers. Users can take a look at the feed without their inbox being flooded.
  • Other ways Medical could be enhanced with digital technology: see IBM Watson, Evidation, Science 37, Cutanea and Natural Cycles

Digital Practices in Marketing -   Joel Erickson

Joel provided a third-party perspective and showcased a real-world model to demonstrate the possibilities you can have with an integrated marketing and sales team:

  • The model puts the customer at the centre; it’s a combination of field-based sales teams, e-sales teams (office-based), eCSRs (office-based), websites, apps, multichannel sampling (where appropriate within the brands), and portals.
  • The model covers 12,000 customers. Traditionally, that would equate to a field team of 60 reps covering 200 targets each, but this model has far fewer field reps than that.
  • The model is supporting a number of promoted brands as well as an LOE portfolio. All of the teams have been resourced against the most productive customers.
  • The field team is resourced appropriately to be highly successful with significant expertise of the promoted brands. The eCSRs cover the LOE portfolio, where the margins are small so resource allocation is important. There is significant collaboration between the e-sales and field teams, giving the model agility. Incentives are in place to encourage collaboration and sharing targets where appropriate.
  • The digital platform is across all customers, excluding sampling which is available only on some brands.
  • Some of the original objectives were around reach, frequency, channel preference and collaboration, but the model has far exceeded those objectives and has become increasingly more efficient over the years with a manageable cost of engagement. Now, the various types of reps are actually owning many of their own accounts with the targets out there. The healthcare community sees this as a great value.

Open Q & A Session -   All Speakers

There were many questions for the speakers. A few of them are outlined below.

  • How do we navigate the regulatory and compliance hurdles? The sooner compliance and regulatory are involved, the better. For anything promotional, PAAB has made huge efforts to compromise and provide guidance. If we don’t involve them, then they won’t ever know there is a need for these solutions. Let them know what you are trying to achieve — it’s not always advertising.
  • Is pharma falling behind other industries regarding digital technology? Yes, it is, but it doesn’t mean we don’t have the expertise and capability to catch up.
  • Is Canada ready for virtual clinical trials? The FDA has already approved some of these trials and are working at developing guidelines to do this again in the future. Perhaps Health Canada will get on board soon.
  • Is anyone using social media influencers and how does that work with our regulatory environment? In order to attract followers on Instagram, it’s all about putting out content with value. With the right message, the followers will come. There is significant opportunity here, but not necessarily right for branded product information — it could help with disease education.
  • What are good ways to get consent from HCPs to use their data? Asking them to subscribe to a newsletter or something similar. By subscribing, they are giving their consent. It always has to be clear that they can opt out at any time.

Closing Remarks -   Brett Miles

Digital technologies can be used to help us reach out to the right customer or patient at the right time, but we need to earn their trust first. Digital technology continues to evolve – let’s all work together!

 

Justine Garner
Freelance Medical Writer
Cell: (514) 605-5109
Courriel: jgarnerwriting@gmail.com
www.jgarnerwriting.com

Upcoming meeting

November 20, 2018

Patient Support Programs - Trending or Transformative

Dinner Meeting
Cocktails: 5:30 p.m.
Dinner: 6:15 p.m.
Panel Discussion: 7:00 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Événements

Conférences précédentes

Le 25 septembre 2018

Une réflexi0n sur les pratiques numériques dans l’industrie pharmaceutique

Les entreprises pharmaceutiques ont tiré profit des pratiques numériques dans de nombreux secteurs fonctionnels depuis plusieurs années. Le moment est venu de faire le point sur ce que nous avons appris et ce vers quoi nous nous dirigeons. Pour la réunion de lancement de la saison 2018–2019, nous avons invité un groupe de spécialistes locaux de l’industrie pharmaceutique canadienne pour discuter de la situation actuelle et de l’évolution récente des pratiques commerciales numériques dans l’industrie pharmaceutique, ainsi que des applications possibles des stratégies numériques aux services médicaux, des ventes et du marketing.

Introduction et points de régie interne -   Shannon Quinn, présidente du CMPQ

  • Nous souhaitons remercier nos commanditaires et nos partenaires qui nous aident à rendre ces réunions possibles.
  • Le thème de l’année : Se concentrer sur la voie à suivre. Cliquez ici pour consulter les sujets que nous allons aborder!
  • Avantages de l’adhésion au club : Saviez-vous que tous les membres du CMPQ ont accès à un rabais de 20 % sur l’inscription au Global Digital Pharma Summit? Ne manquez pas des occasions futures — vérifiez vos courriels!
  • Bon à savoir : L’atelier annuel du CCPP aura lieu en novembre.
  • La prochaine activité du CMPQ : un expert nous dira comment embaucher le bon candidat et nous donnera des conseils sur les moyens efficaces de nous promouvoir. Ne la manquez pas!
  • Nous remercions Anderson DDB pour le travail créatif pour cette activité et Pfizer pour leur commandite de l’activité.

Présentation des conférenciers -   Brett Miles, v.-p. Formation, CMPQ

La réunion avait pour invités vedettes un groupe de spécialistes de l’industrie pharmaceutique, notamment :

L’intérêt pour les pratiques numériques dans l’industrie pharmaceutique -   Martin Husar

Martin a abordé la stratégie marketing et les concepts et pratiques d’un niveau plus élevé en ce qui a trait à l’intérêt des consommateurs.

  • Une évolution typique des pratiques numériques dans l’industrie pharmaceutique :
    • Représentants autorisés à envoyer des textos aux professionnels de la santé → création de sites Internet sur les produits → début de l’utilisation de plateformes pour l’envoi de courriels à des deuxièmes parties  → équipe des ventes dotée de tablettes électroniques; présentations de vente à distance → courriels des responsables marketing provenant des produits envoyés directement sur réception du consentement du client → création de plateformes libre-service (p. ex. des portails, des applis) → expériences multicanaux intégrées
  • Les robots conversationnels et les applications vocales sont les prochaines grandes innovations.
    • il est difficile de fournir des services individuels en tout temps, nous pouvons donc nous servir de la technologie numérique pour combler les lacunes; p. ex. dans Messenger de Facebook, des robots conversationnels  pourraient  donner aux clients des renseignements et des conseils préliminaires.
    • On prévoit que les applications vocales (comme Alexa et Google Home) connaîtront les croissances les plus élevées.
  • L’innovation numérique exige deux aspects : 1) une pensée créatrice; 2) des pratiques agiles.
    • La pensée créatrice compte 5 étapes :
      • Empathie avec l’enjeu et collecte de renseignements
      • Définition du problème
      • Déclenchement de l’idéation et planification d’une solution
      • Essai d’un prototype
      • Évaluation du résultat et ajustements au besoin
    • Pratiques agiles : cela va à l’encontre de nos pratiques normales parce que nous sommes confrontés à des défis réglementaires dans la création de prototypes et l’essai de ceux-ci de façon à procéder rapidement à leur lancement.
  • Au bout du compte, la valeur de s’intéresser au numérique réside dans la possibilité de fournir un service et une expérience améliorés afin d’améliorer nos relations avec nos clients. La participation numérique produit beaucoup de données. Si nous prenons ces renseignements pour nous aider à mieux comprendre les participations, cela nous mènera au bout du compte à une meilleure performance de l’entreprise.

Les pratiques numériques dans la vente -   Tamer Hanna

Tamer a expliqué comment l’équipe des TI d’AbbVie s’est servie de la pensée créatrice et des pratiques agiles pour fournir des solutions techniques qui soutiennent les stratégies de marque du marketing numérique.

  • Ils ont commencé par mettre sur pied une équipe multidisciplinaire appelée e-AbbVie qui établit des liens avec les équipes de technologie, communications, commercial, médical et participation des patients.
  • Par le truchement des médias sociaux, ils ont découvert un besoin non comblé chez les patients non diagnostiqués atteints d’hidradénite suppurée. AbbVie a mis au point une solution en ligne pour donner aux patients les renseignements dont ils ont besoin pour recevoir un diagnostic.
  • AbbVie a également collaboré avec les professionnels de la santé qui traitent cette affection pour la création d’une bibliothèque de contenu que le médecin peut partager avec le patient au moment du départ de celui-ci.
  • La dernière innovation d’AbbVie est un robot conversationnel qui comporte un contenu préapprouvé. Ce robot conversationnel fait l’objet d’un essai pilote auprès d’une petite population de patients, pour vérifier si les patients sont prêts à avoir recours à ce type de technologie en remplacement d’un appel à un professionnel de la santé.
  • L’avenir est une question de données. L’IA sera en mesure d’examiner des ensembles massifs de données et de découvrir des possibilités pour nous — cela peut même s’appliquer au développement de produits pendant les essais cliniques.

Pratiques numériques dans les services médicaux -   Elodie Martin

Elodie a expliqué l’utilisation des outils numériques que les équipes médicales peuvent faire afin de faire face aux restrictions de ressources :

  • Les services médicaux font face à des ressources limitées; des équipes réduites servent des bases de clients plus importantes et gèrent des portefeuilles de produits croissants. Les besoins des clients changent également : avant, on faisait appel au service médical pour obtenir des données cliniques; à présent, les clients ont un meilleur accès à l’information et ils ont besoin d’aide pour faire le tri dans tous les renseignements pour répondre à leurs besoins.
  • Initiatives courantes des services médicaux :
    • Congrès et conférences électroniques — transmis en direct, donc pas besoin de se déplacer et les clients ne paient que pour les séances qui les intéressent
    • Réunions virtuelles — les professionnels de la santé peuvent communiquer avec des spécialistes du monde entier
    • Panneaux publicitaires virtuels— vous pouvez tenir des réunions électroniques synchronisées au cours desquelles, plutôt que d’avoir tout le monde en même temps au même endroit, vous pouvez leur demander de prendre connaissance de la documentation et de commenter les réponses de leurs pairs. Cela permet d’avoir les mêmes types de réflexions qu’une consultation face à face, tout en joignant les professionnels de la santé qui vivent à distance, ce qui permet d’avoir une base de conseillers plus large.
    • Visites virtuelles de clients — vous pouvez séparer votre écran et faire apparaître votre visage. Ce n’est pas la même chose qu’une visite en personne, mais c’est mais qu’un appel téléphonique ou un courriel.
  • Un exemple précis de Sanofi: une appli pour un produit qui a une voie d’administration compliquée. L’appli contient toutes les posologies et les outils d’administration de sorte qu’un client peut rafraîchir ses connaissances longtemps après avoir reçu la formation. Cela permet de s’assurer que le patient reçoit toujours un traitement correct.
  • Une équipe d’Information médicale en Europe se sert de WhatsApp pour transmettre les mises à jour médicales aux clients (p. ex. mises à jour aux étiquettes de produits). Les utilisateurs peuvent regarder le fil d’information sans que la boîte de réception de leur courriel soit inondée.
  • Pour d’autres moyens d’améliorer les services médicaux grâce à la technologie numérique: cliquez sur IBM Watson, Evidation, Science 37, Cutanea et Natural Cycles

Les pratiques numériques dans les services du Marketing -   Joel Erickson

Joel a donné le point de vue d’une tierce partie et a présenté un modèle du vrai monde pour démontrer les possibilités qu’il offre avec une équipe intégrée de marketing et ventes :

  • Le modèle place le client au centre; c’est une combinaison d’équipes de vente sur le terrain, d’équipes de vente électroniques (au siège social), de centres de ressources scientifiques électroniques (au siège social), de sites Web, d’applications, d’échantillonnage multicanaux (le cas échéant selon les produits) et de portails.
  • Le modèle couvre 12 000 clients. Cela équivaudrait, traditionnellement, à une équipe de terrain de 60 représentants qui visitent chacun 200 cibles. Or, ce modèle comprend beaucoup moins de représentants sur le terrain.
  • Le modèle soutient plusieurs produits promus ainsi qu’un portefeuille de produits en perte de revenus. Toutes les équipes sont dotées de ressources adéquates pour servir les clients les plus productifs.
  • L’équipe sur le terrain est dotée des ressources appropriées pour bien réussir avec une expertise importante des produits promus. Les centres de ressources scientifiques électroniques couvrent le portefeuille de produits en perte de revenus, pour lesquels les marges sont faibles de sorte que l’attribution de ressources est importante. Il y a une collaboration importante entre les équipes de vente électronique et sur le terrain, ce qui donne une agilité au modèle. Les mesures incitatives sont en place pour encourager la collaboration et partager les cibles le cas échéant.
  • La plateforme numérique couvre tous les clients, à l’exception d’un échantillonnage qui n’est accessible que pour certains produits.
  • Certains des objectifs initiaux comprenaient la portée, la fréquence, la préférence de canaux et la collaboration, mais le modèle a surpassé de loin ces objectifs et est devenu de plus en plus efficace au fil des ans avec un coût de fonctionnement gérable. Actuellement, les divers types de représentants possèdent un grand nombre de leurs propres comptes avec les cibles divulguées. Le milieu de la santé voit cela comme une grande valeur.

Séance ouverte de Q-R -   Tous les conférenciers

De nombreuses questions ont été posées aux conférenciers. Un aperçu de quelques-unes d’entre elles est présenté ci-dessous :

  • Comment pouvons-nous maîtriser les obstacles réglementaires et de conformité? Plus les services de la conformité et des affaires réglementaires participent tôt au processus, mieux ce sera. Pour tout ce qui est de nature promotionnelle, le CCPP a fait des efforts énormes pour trouver des compromis et donner des conseils. Si nous ne leur demandons pas leur participation, ils ne sauront pas qu’il y a un besoin pour ces solutions. Faites-leur savoir ce que vous essayez d’accomplir  — ce n’est pas toujours de la publicité.
  • L’industrie pharmaceutique est-elle en retard par rapport aux autres industries au sujet de la technologie numérique? Oui, c’est vrai, mais cela ne veut pas dire que nous n’avons pas l’expertise et la capacité de les rattraper.
  • Le Canada est-il prêt pour des essais cliniques virtuels? La FDA a déjà approuvé la tenue de certains de ces essais cliniques et travaille à l’élaboration de lignes directrices pour d’autres essais à l’avenir. Santé Canada emboîtera peut-être le pas bientôt.
  • Y en a-t-il parmi vous qui utilisent des influenceurs médiatiques et comment cela fonctionne-t-il dans votre milieu réglementaire? Pour attirer des suiveurs dans Instagram, il s’agit de produire du contenu qui a de la valeur. Les suiveurs viendront s’ils reçoivent le bon message. Il y a là une occasion importante, mais ce n’est pas nécessairement la bonne pour donner des renseignements sur des produits de marque  — par contre, cela pourrait aider pour informer sur les maladies.
  • Quels sont les bons moyens d’obtenir des professionnels de la santé leur consentement à utiliser leurs données? En leur demandant de s’abonner à un bulletin ou à quelque chose du genre. Quand ils s’abonnent, ils donnent leur consentement. Il faut toujours que cela soit clair qu’ils peuvent mettre fin à cet abonnement en tout temps.

Remarques de clôture -   Brett Miles

Les technologies numériques peuvent servir à nous aider à joindre le bon client ou patient au bon moment, mais nous devons tout d’abord gagner leur confiance. La technologie numérique continue à évoluer – travaillons tous ensemble!


 

Justine Garner
Freelance Medical Writer
Cell: (514) 605-5109
Courriel: jgarnerwriting@gmail.com
www.jgarnerwriting.com

Conférences à venir

Passez un bel été et on se verra en Septembre.