PMCQ Logo
 
Français|Sitemap 
View Photos

Members Lounge

Past Meetings

Sptember 27, 2016

INNOVATING IN A HIGHLY REGULATED ENVIRONMENT

Shannon Quinn, the new PMCQ president, opened the first event of the 2016-2017 season by welcoming everyone and kicked off by discussing how the PMCQ events had helped her accelerate her integration into the pharmaceutical industry in Quebec. Shannon pointed out that the PMCQ is currently celebrating its 60th year, what an amazing legacy! She revealed that the PMCQ’s theme for this season is "Rediscover your PMCQ". She went on to explain the new theme for this season as being a spotlight on development topics coupled with debates around our changing industry landscape. All of the season’s event details, dates and topics can be found in our membership brochure and online at www.pmcq.qc.ca. She also thanked all the generous sponsors from all different levels – Educational - Corporate and Supporting Partners. Shannon also reiterated the goal of the PMCQ; being your premier partner for education, career development and networking.

Martine Boily from Merck then introduced the evening speaker, Jean Francois Ouellet. He was introduced as a born innovator, entrepreneur and a marketing guru. He is also a professor at HEC, a television host and motivational speaker. Jean Francois took the stage and started by saying that he always had an itch for innovation ever since he could remember. He then added that he always wanted to make businesses more innovative and more creative, that’s one of his passions and he firmly believes that even with regulations and constraints this is truly possible.

Jean Francois began talking about innovations by giving a specific example from his days at Dispil Inc. (Packaging System Company dispensing medication) where employees at the beginning of the week would be energized, pumped, and full of creative ideas, however, by the end of the week they were demotivated and depressed due to the fact that none of their ideas had been accepted; every Monday morning, they would start the same process all over again.

Here’s a question that Jean Francois asks himself on a regular basis: It is a curse to be in an over regulated environment and go through these limitations week after week? The answer is that constraints such as those brought by regulations are not bad; they are actually a good thing and they have a tendency to make you better in your creative process.

Jean Francois enumerated a few notorious examples of Innovations developed through major constraints:

  • Sistine Chapel: Michelangelo made a masterpiece out of the Sistine Chapel, notwithstanding the fact that he was not involved in the design and had to live with the existing constraints of the environment.
  • Apollo 13 Mission: Faced with time and resource constraints they were able to make a square shape fit into a round hole; those constraints brought forward all the ingenuity and the creative talent of the team.

According to Jean Francois, the main governing principles allowing companies to be able to innovate and come up with creative ideas is a matter of culture.

Jean Francois defines culture as a group phenomenon; it comes from a group having similar values.

Listed below are the 4 major factors that will have a vast impact under a strict regulated environment

  1. The risk threshold in each organization has to be defined and communicated to everyone (We are willing to live with a little grey zone in the decisions we make, although, this is where we draw the line).
  2. Empower people, let them know what the company limits are and give them incentives (the higher you go, the better it is).
  3. Enhance and promote the value of speaking up - share the increased risk in staying quiet (you have to stand up for what you believe and be able to say this doesn’t work and we should do it differently).
  4. Hiring principles: Hiring is done on competencies, talent, and or personality (if you routinely hire people that are not risk takers and prone to saying no more often than yes, you most probably will not have an innovative company).

Innovation governing principles

  • Innovation requires courage. Being innovative is not only generating new products or new ideas, it’s also being able to adopt new ways of seeing things. Innovative companies are not afraid of being in the unknown zone. They know it’s going to be risky, for them staying put is more risky than innovating.
  • Sky is the limit! If you are not disturbing anybody, you are not innovating.
  • Most innovative companies work within parameters - they think inside the box, though that box has been defined as having huge limits (you can go as far as you want, as long as you stay within those established limits).

According to Jean Francois these 2 majors’ sets of constraints will help to get that creative and innovative boost going:

  • Deadlines: Setting clear and aggressive deadlines.
  • 2 Pizzas rule: If a team cannot be fed with 2 pizzas, the team is too big. Limit yourself to a small contributing team.

How are innovative companies promoting creativity amongst their employees?

  1. Each day take 10-15 minutes and reflect on what went wrong today, what could have been done differently in order to improve things?
    • It takes 3,000 ideas to come up with 1 success
  2. List those ideas; 9 ideas out of 10 will be lost.
  3. An idea is never born great… it becomes great when it’s shared and discussed with people.
  4. Comfort for most innovative companies is seen as a danger, if things are doing great, something is wrong, it’s important to get back into the danger zone.

Jean Francois key takeaway points were:

  • Innovation is not rocket science. Most companies who do survive and keep innovating are putting in place the 4 factors (listed above) that will have a huge impact despite a highly regulated environment.
  • If you are going to do anything, take baby steps, don’t try to make a revolution in one day, "just do it day by day"!
  • Develop a mind set: to become more creative, you need to take risk and get out of your comfort zone.

 

Jo-Ann Charland
Training Consultant and Medical Writer
Email: JoAnn.Charland1@gmail.com
Cell: 438-998-0498
Pharma411

Upcoming meeting

January 22, 2019

The Future of Cannabis in the Pharmaceutical Industry

Dinner Meeting
Cocktails: 5:30 p.m.
Dinner: 6:15 p.m.
Panel Discussion: 7:00 p.m.

Click here to register

PMCQ Logo
English|Carte du Site
Visionner les photos

Members Lounge

Conférences précédentes

Le 27 septembre 2016

INNOVER DANS UN CONTEXTE D’HYPER-RÉGLEMENTATION

Shannon Quinn, la nouvelle présidente du CMPQ, a commencé la première activité de l’année 2016-2017 en accueillant les participants et en mentionnant à quel point les activités du CMPQ l’ont aidée à s’intégrer à l’industrie pharmaceutique du Québec. Shannon a souligné que le CMPQ fête actuellement sa 60e année. Quel héritage incroyable! Elle a révélé le thème du CMPQ pour cette année : « Redécouvrez votre CMPQ ». Elle a ensuite expliqué que ce thème veut mettre en lumière des sujets de perfectionnement ainsi que des débats sur le paysage changeant de notre industrie. Tous les détails sur les activités, les dates et les sujets de l’année se trouvent dans notre brochure d’adhésion et en ligne : www.pmcq.qc.ca. Elle a tenu à remercier tous les généreux commanditaires de tous les niveaux – Partenaires pour les programmes éducatifs, partenaires corporatifs et de soutien. Shannon a également réitéré le but du CMPQ : être votre partenaire principal en matière de formation, de perfectionnement de carrière et de réseautage.

Ensuite, Martine Boily de Merck a présenté Jean-François Ouellet, le conférencier de la soirée, comme un motivateur né, un entrepreneur et un gourou du marketing. Il est également professeur aux HEC, animateur et conférencier motivateur. Aussitôt sur scène, Jean-François a commencé par expliquer qu’aussi loin qu’il se souvienne, il s’est intéressé à l’innovation. Il a ajouté avoir toujours désiré rendre les entreprises plus innovantes et créatives; c’est l’une de ses passions et il est fermement convaincu que c’est tout à fait possible, même avec des réglementations et des contraintes.

Jean François a commencé à parler d’innovations en donnant un exemple précis de son expérience de travail à Dispil Inc. (système de distribution de médicaments (piluliers)) où les employés commençaient chaque semaine remplis d’énergie, de motivation et d’idées créatives et finissaient chaque semaine démotivés et déprimés parce qu’aucune de leurs idées n’avait été acceptée; ils recommençaient le même processus tous les lundis matins.

Voici une question que Jean-François lui-même se pose régulièrement : est-ce une malédiction que de travailler dans un milieu hyper-réglementé et d’être confrontés à ces limites semaine après semaine? La réponse est que des contraintes comme celles qui accompagnent les règlements ne sont pas mauvaises; en fait, elles sont bonnes car elles ont tendance à améliorer le processus créatif.

Jean François a donné quelques exemples notoires d’innovations élaborées malgré des contraintes importantes :

  • La Chapelle Sixtine : Michel Ange a fait un chef-d’œuvre de la Chapelle Sixtine, nonobstant le fait qu’il n’avait pas participé à la conception et qu’il devait vivre avec les contraintes existantes du milieu.
  • La mission Apollo 13 : Confrontés à des contraintes de temps et de ressources, les membres ont réussi à insérer une forme carrée dans un trou rond; ces contraintes ont fait ressortir toute l’ingéniosité et tout le talent créatif de l’équipe.

D’après Jean François, les principaux principes directeurs qui permettent à des entreprises de réussir à innover et à parvenir à des idées créatives sont une question de culture.

Jean François définit la culture comme un phénomène de groupe; elle provient d’un groupe qui partage des valeurs similaires.

Les 4 facteurs importants qui auront des répercussions énormes dans le cadre d’un milieu strictement réglementé sont énumérés ci-dessous :

  1. Le seuil de risque dans chaque entreprise doit être défini et communiqué à tous (nous sommes prêts à vivre avec une petite zone grise dans les décisions que nous prenons, mais c’est ici que cela s’arrête).
  2. Habilitez les employés, dites-leur où se situent les limites de l’entreprise et donnez-leur des incitatifs (plus vous montez dans la hiérarchie, plus vous en avez).
  3. Favorisez et promouvez la valeur de l’expression de ses opinions – dites-leur que le risque augmente s’ils restent silencieux (il faut défendre ses convictions et être capables de dire que quelque chose ne fonctionne pas et qu’il faudrait s’y prendre autrement).
  4. Les principes d’embauche : l’embauche s’effectue selon les compétences, le talent et/ou la personnalité (si vous embauchez régulièrement des personnes qui ne prennent pas de risques et qui sont enclins à dire plus souvent non que oui, il est fort probable que votre entreprise n’est pas innovante).

Les principes directeurs de l’innovation

  • L’innovation demande du courage. Pour être innovant, il ne suffit pas de créer des nouveaux produits ou de trouver des nouvelles idées, il faut aussi être capable d’adopter de nouvelles façons de voir les choses. Les entreprises innovantes n’ont pas peur de se trouver face à l’inconnu. Elles savent qu’il y aura des risques, mais ne rien faire comporte de plus grands risques qu’innover.
  • Les possibilités sont illimitées! On n’innove pas si on ne dérange personne.
  • La plupart des entreprises innovantes travaillent dans le cadre de paramètres – elles réfléchissent dans une perspective bien précise, même si elles ont déterminé d’énormes limites à cette perspective (vous pouvez aller aussi loin que vous voulez, tant que vous restez à l’intérieur des limites établies).

Selon Jean François ces deux ensembles importants de contraintes aideront à déclencher cette impulsion créative et innovante :

  • Les échéances : Établir des échéances claires et ambitieuses.
  • La règle des 2 pizzas : s’il n’est pas possible de nourrir une équipe avec 2 pizzas, alors l’équipe est trop grosse. Limitez-vous à une petite équipe qui contribue positivement.

Comment les entreprises innovantes promeuvent-elles la créativité parmi leurs employés?

  1. Consacrez 10 à 15 minutes par jour à réfléchir à ce qui s’est mal passé durant la journée, à ce qui aurait pu être fait autrement pour améliorer les choses?
    • Il faut 3 000 idées pour obtenir 1 réussite.
  2. Dressez la liste de ces idées; 9 idées sur 10 seront perdues.
  3. Une idée ne naît jamais excellente… elle devient excellente quand elle est partagée et discutée avec d’autres personnes.
  4. Pour la plupart des entreprises innovantes, le confort est perçu comme un danger, quelque chose ne va pas si tout a l’air de bien aller. Il est alors important de retourner dans la zone de danger.

Les principaux points à retenir de la conférence de Jean François :

  • L’innovation, ce n’est pas sorcier. La plupart des entreprises qui survivent et qui continuent à innover mettent en place les 4 facteurs (énumérés ci-dessus) qui auront d’énormes répercussions malgré un milieu hyper-réglementé.
  • Au moment d’entreprendre quelque chose, allez-y par petites étapes, n’essayez pas de tout révolutionner en un seul jour, « procédez jour après jour! »
  • Adoptez une mentalité : pour devenir plus créatif, vous devez prendre des risques et sortir de votre zone de confort.

 

Jo-Ann Charland
Training Consultant and Medical Writer
Email: JoAnn.Charland1@gmail.com
Cell: 438-998-0498
Pharma411

Conférences à venir

23 janvier 2018

Mener une équipe à la victoire

Cocktail : 17 h 30
Souper : 18 h 30
Conférence : 19 h

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire